Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Medicine

Head of Department

Dr Rebecca Grainger
Tel +64 4 918 4031
Email rebecca.grainger@otago.ac.nz

Administration staff

Alison Richardson (Department Manager)
Tel +64 4 918 5589

Connah Podmore (5th Year Undergraduate Programme Administrator)
Tel +64 4 918 5594
Email med5.uow@otago.ac.nz

Alison Edmonds (Trainee Intern and 4th year Undergraduate Programme Administrator)
Tel +64 4 918 6923
alison.edmonds@otago.ac.nz

Maria Risoli (RTRU Administrator)
Tel +64 4 918 5591
Email rtru@otago.ac.nz

Andi Buchanan (Post Graduate Programme Administrator for the Occupational and Aviation Medicine Unit )
Tel +64 4 918 5590
Email OAMU@otago.ac.nz

Angela Stevenson (WellSleep Administrator)
Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email wellsleep@otago.ac.nz

Cris Alip (Finance Administrator)
Tel +64 4 918 6899 
Email cris.alip@otago.ac.nz

Professor Emeritus

Professor Emeritus Carl Burgess

Professors

Julian Crane (Professor of Epidemiology)
Tel +64 4 918 5258
Email julian.crane@otago.ac.nz

Mark Weatherall (Professor of Medicine)
Tel +64 4 918 4817
Email mark.weatherall@otago.ac.nz

Adjunct Professor

Richard Beasley (Respiratory Medicine) 
Email richard.beasley@mrinz.ac.nz

Associate Professors

Jeremy Krebs (Deputy Head of Department)
Tel +64 4 918 5894
Email jeremy.krebs@otago.ac.nz

William Levack (RTRU)
Tel +64 4 918 6279
Email william.levack@otago.ac.nz

Stewart Mann (Honorary Associate Professor)
Email stewart.mann@otago.ac.nz

Alister Neill
Tel +64 4 918 5618
Email alister.neill@otago.ac.nz

Jean Hay-Smith (RTRU)
Tel +64 3 474 7007
Email jean.hay-smith@otago.ac.nz

Anna Ranta
Tel +64 4 806 2581
Email anna.ranta@otago.ac.nz

William Taylor
Tel +64 4 918 4801
Email will.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Andrew Harrison
Tel +64 4 918 5593
Email andrew.harrison@otago.ac.nz

Research Associate Professor

Rob Siebers
Extn 6838
Email rob.siebers@otago.ac.nz

Senior Lecturers 

Elliot Bell (RTRU)
Tel +64 4 918 4894
Email elliot.bell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Angela Campbell (WellSleep)
Tel +64 4 9208819
Email angela.campbell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Stephen Inns
Tel +64 4 918 6848
Email stephen.inns@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rob Griffiths (Occupational and Aviation Medicine)
Tel +64 4 918 5592
Email rob.griffiths@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rosemary Hall
Email rosemary.hall@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike Tweed
Tel +64 4 918 5456
Email mike.tweed@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rebecca Grainger (RTRU)
Tel +64 4 918 4031
Email rebecca.grainger@otago.ac.nz

Dr Fiona Graham (RTRU)
Tel +64 3 337 1317
Email fi.graham@otago.ac.nz

Senior Research Fellows

Dr Tristram Ingham (Wellington Asthma Research Group)
Tel +64 4 918 6842
Email tristram.ingham@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kristin Wickens (Wellington Asthma Research Group)
Tel +64 4 918 6780
Email kristin.wickens@otago.ac.nz

Research Fellows

Bernadette Jones
Tel +64 4 918 6845
Email bernadette.jones@otago.ac.nz

Caroline Shorter
Tel +64 4 918 6714
Email caroline.shorter@otago.ac.nz

Christine Barthow
Tel +64 4 918 6237
Email christine.barthow@otago.ac.nz

Phillipa Barnes
Tel +64 4 918 6837
Email phillipa.barnes@otago.ac.nz

Assistant Research Fellows

  • Daniel Aldridge
  • Lauren Bailey
  • Claire Honeywill

Lecturers

Julie Myers
Tel +64 4 918 4629
Email julie.myers@otago.ac.nz

Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Dr David Abernethy Neurology
  • Jonathan Adler Palliative Care
  • Andrew Aitken Cardiology
  • Chris Anderson Internal
  • Russell Anscombe Cardiology
  • Leila Arnold Renal
  • Kate Barnard
  • Catherine Barrow Oncology
  • Sarah Barton Oncology
  • David Bourke Neurology
  • Raymond Bruce Clinical Skills
  • Christina Cameron Clinical Pharmacology
  • Chris Cederwell Gastroenterology
  • Owais Chaudhri TI Supervisor Palmerston North
  • Caroline Chembo Renal
  • Kate Clarke Oncology
  • Russell Clarke Aviation Medicine
  • Veronica Crawford
  • Andrew Davies Respiratory
  • John Delahunt Endocrinology
  • Dorothy Dinesh Internal Medicine
  • Alwyn D’Souza Oncology
  • Sinead Donnelly Palliative Care
  • Keith Dyson Cardiology
  • Jamie Evans Oncology
  • Sarah Fairley Cardiology
  • Colin Feek
  • Kathy Ferrier Cardiology
  • David Fitzgerald Aviation
  • Peter Fortes Aviation Medicine
  • Rosemary Hall Endocrinology
  • David Hamilton Oncology
  • Scott Harding Cardiology
  • Paul Healy Rheumatology
  • Martyn Horsfall
  • Nicholas Humphries Radiology
  • Luatapu Ioanne Cleverley
  • Sisira Jayathissa Clinical Skills
  • Ben Johnston Aviation Medicine
  • Carol Johnson Oncology
  • Matthew Kelly Gastroenterology
  • Han Kim
  • Jeremy Lanford Neurology
  • Murray Leikis Renal Medicine
  • Marion Leighton Internal Medicine
  • Katia Liang
  • Andrew Linton Internal Medicine
  • Brendan Luey Oncology
  • Philip Matheson Renal Medicine
  • Philip Matsis Cardiology
  • Rudy Morrice Respiratory
  • Stuart Mossman Neurology
  • Nichola Naidoo Oncology
  • Mark Newson-Smith Aviation
  • Anna Nicholson Oncology
  • Anne O’Donnell Oncology
  • Timothy O’Meeghan Clinical Skills
  • Kyle Perrin Internal Medicine
  • Grant Pidgeon Renal Medicine
  • Joanne Rodwell Internal Medicine 
  • David Robiony-Rogers Respiratory
  • Howard Roby Aviation
  • Ian Rosemergy Neurology
  • Alexander Sasse Cardiology
  • Kate Scott Geriatrician
  • Mark Simmonds Cardiology
  • Nigel Stace Gastroenterology
  • Richard Stein Gastroenterology
  • James Taylor Internal Medicine
  • Tom Thompson Internal Medicine
  • David Tripp Internal Medicine
  • Geoff Tothill Aviation
  • Cindy Towns Pharmacology
  • Matt Webber Cardiology
  • John Wilson Endocrinology
  • Jeffrey Wong Clinical Skills
  • John Wyeth Gastroenterology

Adjunct Senior Lecturers

  • Chris Stewart-Patterson Aviation
  • Michael Haney Aviation

Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Charlotte Bennett Aviation
  • Tim Gilmore Aviation
  • Ian Mollan Aviation
  • Pooshan Navathe Aviation
  • Heid Su, Capital Coast District Health Board
  • Niels Dugan, Wairarapa District Health Board
  • Nigel Raymond, Capital Coast District Health Board
  • Justine Travers, Hutt Valley District Health Board
  • Tom Middlemiss, Te Omanga Hospice

WellSleep Sleep Investigation Centre, Bowen Hospital, Churchill Drive, Crofton Downs, Wellington

Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email wellsleep@otago.ac.nz
Web WellSleep Sleep Investigation Centre website

  • Dr Angela Campbell (Manager)
  • Michi Imazu (Clinical Physiologist)
  • Angela Stevenson (WellSleep Administrator)
  • Helen Hills (Clinical Physiologist)
  • Deirdre Sheppard (Sleep Technologist)
  • Shelley Mather (Clinical Physiologist)
  • Maarten Ruiter (Clinical Physiologist)
  • James Miller (Clinical Physiologist)
  • Stephanie Black (Clinical Physiologist)


Wellington Asthma Research Group

Enquiries +64 4 385 5589
Web Wellington Asthma Research Group website

Professor Julian Crane (Director)
Extn 5258
Mob +64 27 451 9725

Christine Barthow (Research Fellow)
Extn 6237

Dr Tristram Ingham (Senior Research Fellow)
Ext 6842
Mob +64 21 212 5336

Bernadette Jones (Research Fellow)
Extn 6845
Mob +64 27 600 3868

Daniel Aldridge (Assistant Research Fellow)

Phillipa Barnes (Research Fellow)
Ext 6837
Mob +64 27 740 0012

Isobel Franklin (Assistant Research Fellow)

Caroline Shorter (Research Fellow)
Extn 6714

Rob Siebers (Research Associate Professor)
Extn 6838

Dr Kristin Wickens (Senior Research Fellow)
Extn 6780
Mob +64 21 023 46804

Fiona Hood (Clinical Research Nurse)
Extn 6843

Ms Lauren Bailey (Assistant Research Fellow)
Extn 6502
Email lauren.bailey@otago.ac.nz

Ms Janice Kang (Assistant Research Fellow)
Extn 6883
Email janice.kang@otago.ac.nz

Claire Honeywill (Assistant Research Fellow)
Extn 6856
Email claire.honeywill@otago.ac.nz