Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Department of Psychological Medicine

Te Tari Whakaora Hinengaro Tangata

Nau mai, haere mai

Staff in the Psychological Medicine department are enthusiastic about research, teaching (and the scholarship of teaching) and clinical practice.

The core academic staff includes psychiatrists, clinical psychologists and a family therapist. In addition, senior clinicians from our two local DHBs (Hutt Valley and Capital and Coast) as well as Midcentral DHB and the Hawkes Bay DHB are also engaged as Senior Clinical Lecturers.

Our research programme is configured around several themes relevant to mental health practice in the New Zealand setting:

  • Mental health service delivery and evaluation, including in primary care
  • The interface between psychological and physical health
  • Social psychiatry and psychiatric epidemiology
  • Suicide
  • Education in the clinical professions

We take pride in our undergraduate and postgraduate teaching programmes. Undergraduate medical students receive mental health teaching in all three clinical years they spend at the University of Otago, Wellington. We provide a range of postgraduate courses, including the seminar series for doctors training in psychiatry.

Contact Information

Tel 64 4 385 5541 extn 5653
Fax 64 4 389 5725

Postal Address

PO Box 7343
Wellington 6242
New Zealand

Street Address

Level J
University of Otago, Wellington
23A Mein Street, Newtown
Wellington 6242
New Zealand