Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

About the University of Otago, Christchurch

Te Whare Wānanga o Otāgo ki Ōtautahi – He kōrero mō mātou

The University of Otago, Christchurch is located in Christchurch, the major urban centre of the South Island of New Zealand. We are a satellite campus of the Dunedin based University of Otago.

Our campus is home to over 1,000 students. One third are medical students in their three clinical years of training and physiotherapy students in their final clinical year. Two thirds are postgraduate health sciences students undertaking a range of programmes to PhD level. Our student body is diverse with more than 20 nationalities represented.

We have internationally recognised research strengths in a number of areas including heart disease, indigenous health, infectious diseases, genetics, cancer, biomedical engineering, nursing, mental health and public health. All of our 14 departments are research active, with more than 30 well-established research groups.

Our campus is located in the heart of Te Papa Hauora (the city’s dedicated health precinct), right next to Christchurch Hospital. Many of our teaching and research staff hold joint positions with the Canterbury District Health Board – ensuring close clinical links.

We collaborate in our research and teaching with partners and institutions across New Zealand and internationally. We value our interdisciplinary approach to research, the friendly, supportive campus atmosphere and the diversity of thought that comes from working with people from all around the world.