Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

The Department of Psychological Medicine, Christchurch, is a leading hub for psychological medicine teaching and research. We run multiple studies from our Clinical Research Unit; a collaboration with Te Whatu Ora - Waitaha Canterbury. Our department includes psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, social workers, nurses, lived experience expertise, researchers and administrators. Our research strengths include:

  • Longitudinal research
  • Mood disorders
  • Anxiety disorders
  • Cognition
  • Eating disorders
  • Addiction

We welcomes general enquiries:

Tel +64 3 372 6700

Email psychmed.reception@otago.ac.nz

We also welcome enquiries from prospective postgraduate students:

Email mentalhealthphd.uoc@otago.ac.nz

For enquiries about our research, please email the study lead for the relevant study or follow links to the study webpages.

Current research

The Christchurch Health and Development Study

Study lead: Associate Professor James Foulds

Email james.foulds@otago.ac.nz

The BEAT-MD project (Behavioural Activation Therapy for Mood Disorders in Aotearoa)

Study lead: Associate Professor Katie Douglas
Email katie.douglas@otago.ac.nz

Ketamine and Behavioural Activation Therapy (BAT) study

Study lead: Dr Ben Beaglehole
Email ben.beaglehole@otago.ac.nz

Psilocybin-assisted interpersonal and social rhythm therapy for depression

Study lead: Professor Cameron Lacey
Email cameron.lacey@otago.ac.nz

Te Uemairangi: First-episode psychosis in Māori

Study lead: Professor Cameron Lacey
Email cameron.lacey@otago.ac.nz

Inpatient activation therapy for depression

Study lead: Professor Richard Porter
Email richard.porter@otago.ac.nz

Intensive rhythm therapy for treatment-resistant bipolar disorder

Study lead: Professor Richard Porter
Email richard.porter@otago.ac.nz

The Unite Project (evaluating cognitive problems in people exposed to the Christchurch earthquakes)

Study lead: Associate Professor Katie Douglas
Email katie.douglas@otago.ac.nz

The March 15 Study: Impacts and Recovery

Study leads:  Dr Ruqayya Sulaiman-Hill and Professor Richard Porter
Email ruqayya.sulaiman-hill@otago.ac.nz and richard.porter@otago.ac.nz

Dual relationship study: experiences of Christchurch Muslims in professional community roles post-March 15 attacks

Study lead: Dr Ruqayya Sulaiman-Hill
Email ruqayya.sulaiman-hill@otago.ac.nz

The March 15 Youth Project

Study lead: Dr Katherine Donovan
Email katherine.donovan@otago.ac.nz

Related information

Back to top