Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Board of Graduate Studies

The Board of Graduate Studies is a committee of the Senate. It meets once a month from February to November and is responsible for advising the Senate on policy and procedures relating to higher degrees, including masters' degrees, doctorates and higher doctorates, including the introduction and design of new programmes and subjects, major revisions of existing postgraduate programmes and subjects, matters relevant to admission, assessment or examination of students and matters pertaining to academic standards.

Graduate Research Student Liaison Committee

This committee meets four times a year. The committee represents thesis Masters and PhD students and has a purely advisory function, discussing current issues relating to research students.

The Committee reports to the Graduate Research Committee and may make recommendations for changes to any appropriate processes or regulations. Any recommendations or proposed actions will be discussed by the Graduate Research Committee, which will take further action where appropriate.

The constitution of the Committee is as follows:

  • Dean, Graduate Research School (Convenor)
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Enterprise) (Ex-Officio)
  • One academic member of the Graduate Research Committee
  • Two representatives from the Doctoral and Scholarships Office, Graduate Research School
  • Two student representatives from each of the teaching Divisions of the Dunedin campus
  • One student representative from the University of Otago, Wellington
  • One student representative from the University of Otago, Christchurch
  • Two representatives of Māori students
  • Two representatives of Pacific Islands students
  • Two representatives of international students
  • One representative of distance students
  • OUSA Postgraduate Representative
  • OUPS President

More information on the Graduate Research Student Liaison Committee can be found here:

Back to top