Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Otago has 9 top-100 subject programmes in the world: four of these are in the Division of Humanities.1

You'll be taught by lecturers and professors who are some of the best in New Zealand, standing shoulder-to-shoulder with the very best in the world.

Our lecturers regularly feature in national and University teaching awards

Teaching excellence in the Division of Humanities has been recognised in National Teaching awards as well as University of Otago Excellence in Teaching Awards.

Karyn Paringatai teaching Maori performing arts
Associate Professor Karyn Paringatai.

The Prime Minister's Supreme Award for tertiary teaching excellence was awarded to Associate Professor Karyn Paringatai (Te Tumu: School of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies) in 2014 and to Professor Jacinta Ruru (Faculty of Law) in 2016. In 2017 Professor Ruth Fitzgerald (Social Anthropology) and Haruko Stuart (Languages and Cultures), were the winners of New Zealand National Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards, and Professor Michelle Thompson-Fawcett (School of Geography) was awarded the Kaupapa Māori National Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award in 2018.

In 2019 Associate Professor Ben Schonthal (Religion) was a recipient of the Otago Excellence in Teaching Awards, and Dr Susan Wardell (Social Anthropology) received the student selected OUSA Supervisor of the year award.

Our teaching is research-informed and research-led

The Division of Humanities is home to many internationally-recognised researchers and research groups.

Our lecturers include the latest thinking and knowledge about their subjects in their teaching. This means that as our students, you will learn through critical thinking, discussion and research to develop a deep understanding of your subjects.

Reference: 1.2022QS World University Rankings and QS Stars Rating.

Ready to enrol?

Apply now

Back to top