Honorary Titles are awarded to persons who are undertaking activities which provide a significant ongoing contribution of benefit to the University, and to recognise the importance of the continuing relationship between the appointee and the University.

Honorary Titles are normally associated with the appointment of specialised and leading academic and professional persons to a position within the University.

Titles are awarded in three categories:

Honorary Fellows are persons of distinction in organisations with strong affiliations with the University of Otago.

Honorary Academic Titles (Lecturer, Research Fellow, Senior Lecturer, Senior Research Fellow, Associate Professor, Research Associate Professor, Professor or Research Professor) are awarded to persons who are currently in employment with another university or who have been previously employed by the University of Otago in academic positions.

Honorary Clinical Titles (Clinical Lecturer and Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer) are awarded to persons who are of high standing in the health professions, usually with good to very good academic records. Usually they would be employed in primary healthcare, District Health Boards or other parts of the health sector.

View the Honorary Appointments - Guidelines for the Awarding of Titles

Key contacts

Dan Wilson
HR Manager - Promotions & Remuneration
64 3 479 8092

Back to top