Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Thursday 22 September 2022 11:47am

Law scholarship recipient to focus on recognition of tikanga Māori

Otago Law alumna Josie Te Rata (Ngāti Raukawa) is one of two recipients of this year's New Zealand Law Foundation Ethel Benjamin Scholarships, and will be studying for a Master of Laws degree at Harvard University, on a Frank Knox Memorial Fellowship.

Read more

Recognition for pioneering robotic work

Otago alumnus Dave Ferguson (BSc Honours, 2001) has gone on to be co-founder of robotics company Nuro. After leaving Otago he completed his PhD at the Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh and has since founded a scholarship in robotics for students at the University of Otago. He recently won a Kea award, which recognises New Zealanders who achieving amazing things overseas.

Read more

Dunedin singer and composer win DMMF South Island Arts Excellence Awards

Coloratura soprano Calla Knudson and composer and musicologist Ihlara McIndoe are the winners of this year's Dame Malvina Major Foundation (DMMF) Arts Excellence Awards for the South Island, each receiving $5,000 towards their future studies.
Calla Knudson and Ihlara McIndoe Malvina Major awards Dunedin singer and composer win DMMF South Island Arts Excellence Awards | Dame Malvina Major Foundation (

Royal Society University Research Fellowship awarded to Otago alumna Dr Hannah Stern

Dr Stern has been appointed by the Royal Society as a University Research Fellow and will take up her post at the Cavendish Laboratory, Department of Physics, University of Cambridge in October. After graduating with her BSc (Hons) from Otago Dr Stern moved to the UK to start a PhD in Physics in the Cavendish Laboratory and was subsequently awarded a Junior Research Fellowship at Trinity College, Cambridge.

Read more

Alumni receive Honours from the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners

The top honour of Distinguished Fellowship was awarded to Dr Lauren McGifford, Dr Jeremy Webber, Dr Peter Moodie, Dr Sean Hanna and Dr Janine Bycroft. The Fellowship is awarded to GPs who have demonstrated sustained contributions to general practice, medicine, or the health and wellbeing of the community.
Community Service Medals recognising outstanding contribution to general practice in their communities were awarded to Dr Matire Harwood (Ngā Puhi) and Dr Chris Fawcett.
Four alumni received the President's Service Medal, awarded to general practitioners who have made an outstanding contribution to the College, and to the general practice workforce. They are Dr Joan Allardyce, Dr Martin Wilson, Dr David Broad and Dr Rachel Thomson.

Read more about each of the award recipients here: Announcements | RNZCGP

Back to top