Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

William Kennedy Prizes in Politics

Mr William Kennedy was a prominent citizen of Dunedin in the late 19th century, and his granddaughter made a bequest in his name to promote the study of Politics and International Relations at the University of Otago.

Didem Yaman Memorial Prize for Best MA Thesis

This prize honours the memory of Didem Yaman who died in the February 2011 Christchurch earthquake, about four months short of completing her PhD thesis in Politics.
The prize is awarded to the student with the best MA thesis result in Politics in a particular year.

Joshua Ferrer (2020)
Sarah Pfander (2019)
Samuel McChesney (2018)
Ruby O'Connor (2017)
Amee Parker (2016)
Ben Loughrey-Webb (2015)
Nicolas Pirsoul (2014)
Juana Diesing (2013)

Best POLS590 Research Dissertation

Toby Goodwin (2021 joint)
Alice Taylor (2021 joint)
Esme Hall (2020)
Tessa Robinson (2019)
Francis Johnson (2018)
Peter Grace (2017)
Samuel Hughes (2016)

Best 300-level Student in Politics

Hansaka Ranaweera (2021)
James Hartshorn (2020)
Esme Hall (2019, joint)
Jack Trevella (2019, joint)
Henry Brockway (2018, joint)
Emily Davies (2018, joint)
Owen Wilkinson (2017)
Peter Grace (2016)
Oliver Hailes (2015)
Bryn Jones (2014)
Guy Jones (2013)
Danielle Duffield (2012, joint)
Matthew Stansfield (2012, joint)
Caroline Leeming (2011, joint)
Susanna Miller (2011, joint)
Adam Linnell (2010)
Leigh Harding (2009)

Best 300-level Māori Student in Politics

Tohunga Riwai (2021)
Eva Pearson (2020)
Anahera Arheson (2019)
Tara Leckie (2018)
Summer Cooper (2017)
Toby Burnett (2016)
Tessa Vincent (2015)
Samuel Henry (2014)
Mel Jagusch (2013)
Griffin Leonard (2012)
Olivia Kitson (2011)
James Leask (2010, joint)
James Meager (2010, joint)
Leah Rangi (2009)

Best POLS490 Research Dissertation

Samuel McChesney (2012)
Samuel Harris (2011)
Michael King (2010, joint)
Christopher Meikle (2010, joint)
Gemma Cornelissen (2009)