Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Academic and research staff

Honorary staff members

  • Honorary Associate Professor Lyndie Foster Page (now with Division of Dental Public Health, Oregon Health & Science University)

Former staff members

  • Dr Jiaxu (Jimmy) Zeng (now with the Department of Preventive and Social Medicine, University of Otago)
  • Dr Lee Smith (now with Whitireia and WelTec)
  • Dr Dara Shearer

Completed postgraduate students


Charlotte Hurst (2023)
Yvonne Golpak (2023)
Nigel Tan (2022)
Jesslyn Praganta (2022)
Emma Jefferies (2021)
Lenoka Rupasinghe (2021)
Zeina Al Naasan (2021)
Gracie Nichols (2020)
Simon Olliver (2019)
Emma Morelli (2019)
Adelyn Lau (2019)
Hamid Mohammed (2019)


Deanna Beckett (2024)

Angela Benn (2023)

Begoña Ruiz (2023)

Dorothy Boyd (2022)

Master of Community Dentistry

Dhara Tilvawala (2024)
Rebecca Chapman (2023)
Manisha Narsinh (2022)
Kate Naysmith (2020)
Helen Lloyd (2020)
Philip Goh (2019)
Hayley Dixon (2019)

Master of Dentistry

Peter Sese (2021)

Master of Oral Health

Chelsea Rohekar (2023)
Hayley James (2021)
Jane Choi (2020)
Naseem Asadi (2020)
Keri Carruthers (2019)

Postgraduate Diploma in Community Dentistry

Tania Stuart (2022)
Chuen Lin Hong (2020)

Interested in joining our programme?


University of Otago

Dunedin Multidisciplinary Health and Development Study
Kura Lacey (Kōhatu Centre for Hauora Māori, Otago Medical School)
Dr Moira Smith (University of Otago Wellington)


Dr Tim Chambers (University of Canterbury)
Dr Matt Hobbs (University of Canterbury)
Associate Professor Hamish Jamieson (University of Canterbury) 
Professor Ngaire Kerse (University of Auckland)


University of Adelaide
The University of British Columbia
University of Melbourne
University of Toronto
McGill University
Universiti Malaya
Duke University
University of Michigan
GKT Dental Institute, UK
University of London
Sheffield University
Dundee University
University of Chile
Federal University of Pelotas, Brazil
University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil

WM Thomson Lee Smith 186pxProfessor Murray Thomson and Dr Lee Smith.

Broughton Lawrence poster 186pxEmeritus Professor John Broughton with Dr Mark Lawrence, Bay of Plenty DHB.

More information

Dental epidemiology and public health programme profile
(Extract from our 2019-2020 SJWRI Research Report)

Dental epidemiology and public health programme main page

Back to top