Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Staff phone numbers and email

For a complete listing of staff phone and email contacts for the School visit the University of Otago phonebook


Elaine A Hargreaves (Nee Rose) BSc(Hons)(Glasgow) PhD(Wales)

Academic staff

Melanie D Bussey BPhEd MSc(New Br) PhD(Otago)

Christopher Button BSc(Hons) PhD(Manc Met)

Tania G Cassidy DipPE DipGrad MPhEd(Otago) PhD(Deakin) DipTchg

James D Cotter BSc MPhEd(Otago) PhD(W'gong)

Mark Falcous BA(Hons)(De Mont) MA(Qu) PhD(Lough)

Elaine A Hargreaves (Nee Rose) BSc(Hons)(Glas) PhD(Bangor Wales)

Kenneth P Hodge DipPhEd(Otago) MS(Montana) PhD(Ill)

Steven J Jackson BA(WOnt) MS PhD(Ill)

Peter Lamb HBK MSc(Lakehead) PhD(Otago)

Marguerita I Lázár MA(Otago)

Nancy J Rehrer BA(Duke) MSc(Clemson) PhD(Maastricht)

Michael Sam BPE(Alta) MA(New Bruns) PhD(Otago)

Sally Shaw BA(Hons)(York) MSc(Dist)(Sheffield) PhD(De Mont)

Lara Vlietstra BSc (Avans Breda), MSc (Utrecht), PhD (Otago)

Professional Practice Fellows

Mark Drury – BPhEd (Otago) Masters in Strength & Conditioning (Edin)

Emily Scott – BPhEd Hons(Otago)

Teaching Fellows

Dr Neil Anderson – BPhEd PGDipDS MPhEd PhD(Otago)

Dr Sebastian Potgieter – BA(Hons) MA (Stellenbosch) PhD (Otago)


Bridie Nanai, MSc Applied Sport and Exercise Science; MSc Sport Therapy
Research Analyst with M Bussey

Maddie Pascoe – BSc(Cant)
Assistant Research Fellow with R Blakemore

Maria Pearson,  MPhEd(Otago)
Research Assistant with S Shaw

William White – NZSCA, BAppSc, PGDipSc(Dist)(Otago)
Research Assistant with M Bussey

Honorary Lecturer

Rebekah Blakemore BSc(Akld) PGDipPE MPhEd PhD(Otago)

Honorary Associate Professor

Lynnette M Jones – BSc BPhEd (Hons) PGCert MedTech PhD (Otago)

Adjunct Associate Professsor

Michael Boyes – Bed(Massey) Med(W Aust) PhD(Otago) DipTchg MNZM

Emeritus Professor

Douglas Booth BSc(Hons)(Melb) MSocSci(Natal) PhD(Macquarie)

Honorary staff

2020-2022 Dr Luiz Uehara, BPhEd Hons DipGrad PhD (Otago)

2020–2021 – Dr Jonathan Ng, DipPE BSc(Sing) PhD(Otago)

2019–2022 – Dr James Croft,  BSc(Hons)(Bristol) MSc(Victoria) PhD(Calgary)

2013 – Dr Jaleh McCormack  BA(Hons) MA PhD(Otago)

2012 – Dr James Croft  BSc(Hons)(Bristol) MSc(Victoria) PhD(Calgary)

2011 – Dr Andrew  Garrett BA(Hons)(Wales Inst.) MSc(Loughborough) Cert.Tchg (Waikato Inst.)  PhD(Otago)

2011 – Dr Ludovic Seifert MSc(Strasbourg)  MSc(Louis Pasteur) PhD(Rouen)

2010 – Associate Professor Graham Fletcher BE(Hons)(West  London Inst.) MSc(Brunel) PhD(Sheffield)

Electronic addresses (including email accounts instant messaging  services or telephone accounts) published on this page and website domain are for the  sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned in their  capacity as officers employees or students of the University of Otago  or their respective organisation. Publication of any such electronic  address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial  electronic messages by the address holder.

Back to top