Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Medicine

Ō mātou tāngata

Head of Department

Associate Professor Anna Ranta
Tel +64 4 806 2581
Email anna.ranta@otago.ac.nz

Professor Emeritus

Professor Emeritus Carl Burgess

Professors

Julian Crane (Professor of Epidemiology)
Tel +64 4 918 5258
Email julian.crane@otago.ac.nz

Mark Weatherall (Professor of Medicine)
Tel +64 4 918 4817
Email mark.weatherall@otago.ac.nz

Adjunct Professor

Richard Beasley (Respiratory Medicine) 
Email richard.beasley@mrinz.ac.nz

Associate Professors

Jeremy Krebs (Deputy Head of Department)
Tel +64 4 918 5894
Email jeremy.krebs@otago.ac.nz

William Levack (RTRU)
Tel +64 4 918 6279
Email william.levack@otago.ac.nz

Stewart Mann (Honorary Associate Professor)
Email stewart.mann@otago.ac.nz

Alister Neill
Tel +64 4 918 5618
Email alister.neill@otago.ac.nz

Jean Hay-Smith (RTRU)
Tel +64 3 474 7007
Email jean.hay-smith@otago.ac.nz

William Taylor
Tel +64 4 918 4801
Email will.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Andrew Harrison
Tel +64 4 918 5593
Email andrew.harrison@otago.ac.nz

Research Associate Professor

Rob Siebers
Extn 6838
Email rob.siebers@otago.ac.nz

Senior Lecturers 

Elliot Bell (RTRU)
Tel +64 4 918 4894
Email elliot.bell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Angela Campbell (WellSleep)
Tel +64 4 9208819
Email angela.campbell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Fiona Graham (RTRU)
Tel +64 3 337 1317
Email fi.graham@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rebecca Grainger (RTRU)
Tel +64 4 918 4031
Email rebecca.grainger@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rob Griffiths (Occupational and Aviation Medicine)
Tel +64 4 918 5592
Email rob.griffiths@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rosemary Hall
Email rosemary.hall@otago.ac.nz

Dr Stephen Inns
Tel +64 4 918 6848
Email stephen.inns@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike Tweed
Tel +64 4 918 5456
Email mike.tweed@otago.ac.nz

Lecturers

Julie Myers
Tel +64 4 918 4629
Email julie.myers@otago.ac.nz

Senior Research Fellows

Dr Tristram Ingham (Wellington Asthma Research Group)
Tel +64 4 918 6842
Email tristram.ingham@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kristin Wickens (Wellington Asthma Research Group)
Tel +64 4 918 6780
Email kristin.wickens@otago.ac.nz

Research Fellows

Phillipa Barnes
Tel +64 4 918 6837
Email phillipa.barnes@otago.ac.nz

Christine Barthow
Tel +64 4 918 6237
Email christine.barthow@otago.ac.nz

Bernadette Jones
Tel +64 4 918 6845
Email bernadette.jones@otago.ac.nz

Caroline Shorter
Tel +64 4 918 6714
Email caroline.shorter@otago.ac.nz

Assistant Research Fellows

  • Daniel Aldridge
  • Lauren Bailey
  • Claire Honeywill
  • Janice Kang

Administration staff

Hazel Phillips (Department Manager)
Tel +64 4 918 5589
Email hazel.phillips@otago.ac.nz

Connah Podmore (5th Year Undergraduate Programme Administrator)
Tel +64 4 918 5594
Email med5.uow@otago.ac.nz

Shan Valiyara (4th year Undergraduate Programme Administrator)
Tel +64 4 918 6923
Email med4.uow@otago.ac.nz

Maria Risoli (RTRU Administrator)
Tel +64 4 918 5591
Email rtru@otago.ac.nz

Andi Buchanan (Post Graduate Programme Administrator for the Occupational and Aviation Medicine Unit )
Tel +64 4 918 5590
Email OAMU@otago.ac.nz

Angela Stevenson (WellSleep Administrator)
Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email wellsleep@otago.ac.nz

Cris Alip (Finance Administrator)
Tel +64 4 918 6899 
Email cris.alip@otago.ac.nz

Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Dr David Abernethy Neurology
  • Jonathan Adler Palliative Care
  • Andrew Aitken Cardiology
  • Chris Anderson Internal
  • Russell Anscombe Cardiology
  • Leila Arnold Renal
  • George Anup Oncology
  • Catherine Barrow Oncology
  • Elaine Barrington-Ward Endocrinology
  • George Bax General Medicine
  • David Bourke Neurology
  • Christina Cameron Clinical Pharmacology
  • Caroline Clark Renal
  • Russell Clarke Aviation Medicine
  • Brian Corley Endocrinology
  • Veronica Crawford
  • Andrew Davies Respiratory
  • Dorothy Dinesh Internal Medicine
  • Alwyn D’Souza Oncology
  • Sinead Donnelly Palliative Care
  • Keith Dyson Cardiology
  • Jamie Evans Oncology
  • Sarah Fairley Cardiology
  • Colin Feek Physician
  • James Fingleton Respiratory
  • Jonathan Graham Oncology
  • David Hamilton Oncology
  • Kim Han Oncology
  • Kurt Hansen Physician
  • Scott Harding Cardiology
  • Paul Healy Rheumatology
  • Sarah Herdewyn Neurology
  • Darren Hooks Cardiology
  • Rowena Howard Endocrinology
  • Nicholas Humphries Radiology
  • Luatapu Ioanne-Cleverley
  • Doughlas Iupati Oncology
  • Sisira Jayathissa General Medicine
  • Carol Johnson Radiology Oncology
  • Matthew Kelly Gastroenterology
  • Sean Lance
  • Jeremy Lanford Neurology
  • Murray Leikis Renal Medicine
  • Marion Leighton Internal Medicine
  • Katia Liang Physician
  • Brendan Luey Oncology
  • Philip Matheson Renal Medicine
  • Philip Matsis Cardiology
  • Kelly Matthew General Medicine
  • Rudy Morrice Respiratory
  • Nichola Naidoo Oncology
  • Mark Newson-Smith Aviation
  • Brendan Ng
  • Anna Nicholson Oncology
  • Anne O’Donnell Oncology
  • Kyle Perrin Internal Medicine
  • Susan Plunkett Cardiology
  • Grant Pidgeon Renal Medicine
  • Anil Ranchord Cardiology
  • Bruce Raymond general Medicine
  • Joanne Rodwell Internal Medicine
  • David Robiony-Rogers Respiratory
  • Ian Rosemergy Neurology
  • Alexander Sasse Cardiology
  • Ruth Semprini
  • Mark Simmonds Cardiology
  • Nigel Stace Gastroenterology
  • James Taylor Internal Medicine
  • Tom Thomson Internal Medicine
  • David Tripp Internal Medicine
  • Cindy Towns Pharmacology
  • Matt Webber Cardiology
  • Patricia Whitfiled Endocrinology
  • MItchell Wooley

Adjunct Senior Lecturers

  • Chris Stewart-Patterson Aviation
  • Michael Haney Aviation

Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Charlotte Bennett Aviation
  • Tim Gilmore Aviation
  • Ian Mollan Aviation
  • Pooshan Navathe Aviation
  • Heid Su, Capital Coast District Health Board
  • Niels Dugan, Wairarapa District Health Board
  • Nigel Raymond, Capital Coast District Health Board
  • Justine Travers, Hutt Valley District Health Board
  • Tom Middlemiss, Te Omanga Hospice

WellSleep Sleep Investigation Centre, Bowen Hospital, Churchill Drive, Crofton Downs, Wellington

Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email wellsleep@otago.ac.nz
Web WellSleep Sleep Investigation Centre website

  • Dr Angela Campbell (Manager)
  • Angela Stevenson (WellSleep Administrator)
  • Stephanie Black (Clinical Physiologist)
  • Helen Hills (Clinical Physiologist)
  • Michi Imazu (Clinical Physiologist)
  • Shelley Mather (Clinical Physiologist)
  • James Miller (Clinical Physiologist)
  • Maarten Ruiter (Clinical Physiologist)
  • Deirdre Sheppard (Sleep Technologist)


Wellington Asthma Research Group

Enquiries +64 4 385 5589
Web Wellington Asthma Research Group website

Professor Julian Crane (Director)
Extn 5258
Mob +64 27 451 9725

Rob Siebers (Research Associate Professor)
Extn 6838

Dr Kristin Wickens (Senior Research Fellow)
Extn 6780
Mob +64 21 023 46804

Dr Tristram Ingham (Senior Research Fellow)
Ext 6842
Mob +64 21 212 5336

Bernadette Jones (Research Fellow)
Extn 6845
Mob +64 27 600 3868

Phillipa Barnes (Research Fellow)
Ext 6837
Mob +64 27 740 0012

Caroline Shorter (Research Fellow)
Extn 6714

Christine Barthow (Research Fellow)
Extn 6237

Fiona Hood (Clinical Research Nurse)
Extn 6843

Daniel Aldridge (Assistant Research Fellow)

Ms Lauren Bailey (Assistant Research Fellow)
Extn 6502
Email lauren.bailey@otago.ac.nz

Claire Honeywill (Assistant Research Fellow)
Extn 6856
Email claire.honeywill@otago.ac.nz

Ms Janice Kang (Assistant Research Fellow)
Extn 6883
Email janice.kang@otago.ac.nz

Isobel Franklin (Assistant Research Fellow)