Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Medicine

Ō mātou tāngata

Head of Department

Associate Professor Anna Ranta
Tel +64 4 806 2581
Email anna.ranta@otago.ac.nz

Professor Emeritus

Professor Emeritus Carl Burgess

Professors

Julian Crane (Professor of Epidemiology)
Tel +64 4 918 5258
Email julian.crane@otago.ac.nz

Mark Weatherall (Professor of Medicine)
Tel +64 4 918 4817
Email mark.weatherall@otago.ac.nz

Alister Neill
Tel +64 4 918 5618
Email alister.neill@otago.ac.nz

Jeremy Krebs (Deputy Head of Department, Professor of Medicine)
Tel +64 4 918 5894
Email jeremy.krebs@otago.ac.nz

Adjunct Professor

Richard Beasley (Respiratory Medicine) 
Email richard.beasley@mrinz.ac.nz

Associate Professors

William Levack (RTRU)
Tel +64 4 918 6279
Email william.levack@otago.ac.nz

Stewart Mann (Honorary Associate Professor)
Email stewart.mann@otago.ac.nz

Jean Hay-Smith (RTRU)
Tel +64 3 474 7007
Email jean.hay-smith@otago.ac.nz

William Taylor
Tel +64 4 918 4801
Email will.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Andrew Harrison
Tel +64 4 918 5593
Email andrew.harrison@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Rebecca Grainger
Tel +64 4 918 4031
Email rebecca.grainger@otago.ac.nz

Research Associate Professor

Rob Siebers
Extn 6838
Email rob.siebers@otago.ac.nz

Senior Lecturers 

Elliot Bell (RTRU)
Tel +64 4 918 4894
Email elliot.bell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Angela Campbell (WellSleep)
Tel +64 4 9208819
Email angela.campbell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Fiona Graham (RTRU)
Tel +64 3 337 1317
Email fi.graham@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rob Griffiths (Occupational and Aviation Medicine)
Tel +64 4 918 5592
Email rob.griffiths@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rosemary Hall
Email rosemary.hall@otago.ac.nz

Dr Stephen Inns
Tel +64 4 918 6848
Email stephen.inns@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike Tweed
Tel +64 4 918 5456
Email mike.tweed@otago.ac.nz

Lecturers

Julie Myers
Tel +64 4 918 4629
Email julie.myers@otago.ac.nz

Senior Research Fellows

Dr Tristram Ingham (Wellington Asthma Research Group)
Tel +64 4 918 6842
Email tristram.ingham@otago.ac.nz

Caroline Shorter
Tel +64 4 918 6714
Email caroline.shorter@otago.ac.nz

Research Fellows

Phillipa Barnes
Tel +64 4 918 6837
Email phillipa.barnes@otago.ac.nz

Christine Barthow
Tel +64 4 918 6237
Email christine.barthow@otago.ac.nz

Bernadette Jones
Tel +64 4 918 6845
Email bernadette.jones@otago.ac.nz

Assistant Research Fellows

Daniel Aldridge
Tel +64 4 918 6041
Email daniel.aldridge@otago.ac.nz

Lauren Bailey
Tel +64 4 918 6601
Email lauren.bailey@otago.ac.nz

Claire Honeywill
Tel +64 4 918 6856
Email claire.honeywill@otago.ac.nz

Janice Kang
Tel +64 4 918 6883
Email janice.kang@otago.ac.nz

Isobel Franklin
Tel +64 4 918 6944
Email isobel.franklin@otago.ac.nz

Research Assistants

  • Morag Wright-McNaughton
  • Danielle Sword
  • Anne Fitzpatrick
  • Kahu Dey
  • Anna Hobman

Clinical Research Nurse

Fiona Hood
Tel +64 4 918 6843
Email fiona.hood@otago.ac.nz

Professional staff

Emma Page
Client Services Administrator
Tel +64 4 385 5589
Email emma.page@otago.ac.nz

Joelle Williamson
Client Services Administrator
5th Year Undergraduate Programme
Tel +64 4 918 5594
Email med5.uow@otago.ac.nz

TBC
Client Services Administrator
4th Year Undergraduate Programme
Tel +64 4 918 6923
Email med4.uow@otago.ac.nz

Danielle Paul
Client Services Administrator
Occupational and Aviation Medicine Unit
Rehabilitation Teaching and Research Unit
Tel +64 4 918 5591
Email OAMU@otago.ac.nz, rtru@otago.ac.nz

Hazel Phillips
Client Services Administrator
WellSleep Centre
Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email wellsleep@otago.ac.nz

Cris Alip
Finance Associate
Tel +64 4 918 6899
Email cris.alip@otago.ac.nz

Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Dr David Abernethy Neurology
  • Jonathan Adler Palliative Care
  • Andrew Aitken Cardiology
  • Chris Anderson Internal
  • Russell Anscombe Cardiology
  • Leila Arnold Renal
  • Anup George Haematology
  • Catherine Barrow Oncology
  • Elaine Barrington-Ward Endocrinology
  • George Bax General Medicine
  • David Bourke Neurology
  • Christina Cameron Clinical Pharmacology
  • Caroline Clark Renal
  • Russell Clarke Aviation Medicine
  • Brian Corley Endocrinology
  • Veronica Crawford
  • Andrew Davies Respiratory
  • Dorothy Dinesh Internal Medicine
  • Alwyn D’Souza Oncology
  • Sinead Donnelly Palliative Care
  • Keith Dyson Cardiology
  • Jamie Evans Oncology
  • Sarah Fairley Cardiology
  • Colin Feek Physician
  • James Fingleton Respiratory
  • Jonathan Graham Oncology
  • David Hamilton Oncology
  • Kim Han Oncology
  • Kurt Hansen Physician
  • Scott Harding Cardiology
  • Paul Healy Rheumatology
  • Sarah Herdewyn Neurology
  • Darren Hooks Cardiology
  • Rowena Howard Endocrinology
  • Nicholas Humphries Radiology
  • Luatapu Ioanne-Cleverley
  • Doughlas Iupati Oncology
  • Sisira Jayathissa General Medicine
  • Carol Johnson Radiology Oncology
  • Matthew Kelly Gastroenterology
  • Sean Lance
  • Jeremy Lanford Neurology
  • Murray Leikis Renal Medicine
  • Marion Leighton Internal Medicine
  • Katia Liang Physician
  • Brendan Luey Oncology
  • Philip Matheson Renal Medicine
  • Philip Matsis Cardiology
  • Kelly Matthew General Medicine
  • Rudy Morrice Respiratory
  • Nichola Naidoo Oncology
  • Mark Newson-Smith Aviation
  • Brendan Ng
  • Anna Nicholson Oncology
  • Anne O’Donnell Oncology
  • Kyle Perrin Internal Medicine
  • Susan Plunkett Cardiology
  • Grant Pidgeon Renal Medicine
  • Anil Ranchord Cardiology
  • Bruce Raymond general Medicine
  • Joanne Rodwell Internal Medicine
  • David Robiony-Rogers Respiratory
  • Ian Rosemergy Neurology
  • Alexander Sasse Cardiology
  • Ruth Semprini
  • Mark Simmonds Cardiology
  • Nigel Stace Gastroenterology
  • James Taylor Internal Medicine
  • Tom Thomson Internal Medicine
  • David Tripp Internal Medicine
  • Cindy Towns Pharmacology
  • Matt Webber Cardiology
  • Patricia Whitfiled Endocrinology
  • MItchell Wooley

Adjunct Senior Lecturers

  • Chris Stewart-Patterson Aviation
  • Michael Haney Aviation

Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Charlotte Bennett Aviation
  • Tim Gilmore Aviation
  • Ian Mollan Aviation
  • Pooshan Navathe Aviation
  • Heid Su, Capital Coast District Health Board
  • Niels Dugan, Wairarapa District Health Board
  • Nigel Raymond, Capital Coast District Health Board
  • Justine Travers, Hutt Valley District Health Board
  • Tom Middlemiss, Te Omanga Hospice