Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Medicine

Ō mātou tāngata

Head of Department

Professor Anna Ranta
Professor of Neurology
Tel +64 4 806 2581
Email anna.ranta@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Deputy Head of Department

Professor Jeremy Krebs
Professor of Medicine
Tel +64 4 918 5894
Email jeremy.krebs@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professor Emeritus

Professor Emeritus Carl Burgess

^ Top of page

Professors

Julian Crane
Professor of Epidemiology
Tel +64 4 918 5258
Email julian.crane@otago.ac.nz

Rebecca Grainger
Professor of Medicine
Tel +64 4 918 4031
Email rebecca.grainger@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jean Hay-Smith
Professor of Rehabilitation
Tel +64 3 474 7007
Email jean.hay-smith@otago.ac.nz

Alister Neill
Professor of Respiratory and Sleep Medicine
Tel +64 4 918 5618
Email alister.neill@otago.ac.nz

Mark Weatherall
Professor of Medicine
Tel +64 4 918 4817
Email mark.weatherall@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Adjunct Professor

Richard Beasley
Respiratory Medicine
Tel +64 4 805 0230
Email richard.beasley@mrinz.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Associate Professors

Angela Campbell
WellSleep
Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email angela.campbell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Fiona Graham
Rehabilitation Teaching and Research Unit
Tel +64 3 337 1317
Email fi.graham@otago.ac.nz

Andrew Harrison
Tel +64 4 918 5593
Email andrew.harrison@otago.ac.nz

William Taylor
Tel +64 4 918 4801
Email will.taylor@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Clinical Associate Professors

Dr Sinead Donnelly
Internal Medicine
Email sinead.donnelly@otago.ac.nz

Dr Darren Hooks
Internal Medicine
Email darren.hooks@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Honorary Professor

Dr Sarah Dean

Dr Michael Haney
Occupational and Aviation Medicine

^ Top of page

Research Associate Professor

Dr Tristram Ingham
Wellington Asthma Research Group
Tel +64 4 918 6842
Email tristram.ingham@otago.ac.nz

Honorary Research Associate Professor

Rob Siebers
Tel +64 4 918 6838
Email rob.siebers@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Senior Lecturers

Dr Elliot Bell
Rehabilitation Teaching and Research Unit
Tel +64 4 918 4894
Email elliot.bell@otago.ac.nz

Peter Fortes
Occupational and Aviation Medicine
Email peter.fortes@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rob Griffiths
Occupational and Aviation Medicine
Tel +64 4 918 5592
Email rob.griffiths@otago.ac.nz

Dr Rosemary Hall
Email rosemary.hall@otago.ac.nz

Dr Stephen Inns
Tel +64 4 918 6848
Email stephen.inns@otago.ac.nz

Dr Julie Myers
Tel +64 4 918 4629
Email julie.myers@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mike Tweed
Tel +64 4 918 5456
Email mike.tweed@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Lecturer

Dr Rachelle Martin
Rehabilitation Teaching and Research Unit
Mob +64 21 223 3362
Email rachelle.martin@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Senior Research Fellow

Bernadette Jones
Tel +64 4 918 6845
Email bernadette.jones@otago.ac.nz

Dr Caroline Shorter
Tel +64 4 918 6714
Email caroline.shorter@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Dr Meika Foster

^ Top of page

Research Fellows

Phillipa Barnes
Tel +64 4 918 6837
Email phillipa.barnes@otago.ac.nz

Christine Barthow
Tel +64 4 918 6237
Email christine.barthow@otago.ac.nz

Dr Paddy Whitfield
Endocrinology
Email patricia.whitfield@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professional Practice Fellow

Kin Loke
Occupational and Aviation Medicine Unit
Mob +64 21 0830 6142
Email swee.kin.loke@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Assistant Research Fellows

Dr Claire Honeywill
Tel +64 4 918 6856
Email claire.honeywill@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Hood
Tel +64 4 918 6843
Email fiona.hood@otago.ac.nz

Janice Kang
Tel +64 4 918 6883
Email janice.kang@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Professional staff

Sophie Petelaud
Lead Client Services Administrator
5th Year Undergraduate Programme
6th Year/Trainee Interns Undergraduate Programme
Tel +64 21 279 0127
Email sophie.petelaud@otago.ac.nz, med5.uow@otago.ac.nz, med6.uow@otago.ac.nz

Cris Alip
Finance Associate
Email cris.alip@otago.ac.nz

Susan Baikie
Client Services Administrator
Occupational and Aviation Medicine Unit
Rehabilitation Teaching and Research Unit
Email OAMU@otago.ac.nz, rtru@otago.ac.nz

Matt Foster
Client Services Administrator
4th Year Undergraduate Programme
Email med4.uow@otago.ac.nz

Hazel Phillips
Client Services Administrator
WellSleep Centre
Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email wellsleep@otago.ac.nz

Hongmei Wei
Client Services Administrator, Wellsleep
Tel +64 4 920 8819
Email wellsleep@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Dr Andrew Aitken, Cardiology
  • Dr Chris Anderson, Internal
  • Dr Russell Anscombe, Cardiology
  • Dr Leila Arnold, Renal
  • Dr George Bax, General Medicine
  • Dr David Bourke, Neurology
  • Dr Pedro Broggi, Geriatrics
  • Dr Chris Cameron, Clinical Pharmacology
  • Dr John Chalkley, Aviation Medicine
  • Dr Caroline Chembo, Renal
  • Dr Carolyn Clark, Renal
  • Russell Clarke, Aviation Medicine
  • Dr Brian Corley, Endocrinology
  • Dr Dorothy Dinesh, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Keith Dyson, Cardiology
  • Dr Marianne Falconer, Stroke Physician
  • Dr Jeremy Fyson, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Anup George, Haematology
  • Dr Tim Gilmore, Aviation
  • Dr Robert Hackett, Internal Medicine
  • Dr David Hamilton, Oncology
  • Dr Paul Healy, Rheumatology
  • Dr Rowena Howard, Endocrinology
  • Dr Satish Hulikunte, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Nicholas Humphries, Radiology
  • Dr Tupu Ioanne-Cleverley, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Douglas Iupati, Oncology
  • Dr Eric Ji, Oncology
  • Dr Carol Johnson, Radiology Oncology
  • Dr Evan Jolliffe, Neurology
  • Dr Matthew Kelly, Gastroenterology, General Medicine
  • Dr Maran Kumarasamy, Endocrinology
  • Dr Katia Liang Lung Chong, Physician
  • Dr Andrew Linton, Geriatrics
  • Dr Maartje Lyons, Aviation Medicine
  • Dr Philip Matheson, Renal Medicine
  • Dr Philip Matsis, Cardiology
  • Dr Timothy Matthews, Geriatrics
  • Victoria McGarrigal
  • Dr Emma McMenamin, Palliative Medicine
  • Dr Khadiga Mohammed, Oncology
  • Dr Maas Mollenhauer, Neurology
  • Dr Tom Mules, Gastroenterology
  • Dr Nichola Naidoo, Oncology
  • Dr Shahistha Naidoo, Radiation Oncology
  • Dr Brendan Ng, Geriatrics
  • Dr Lily Nightingale, Occupational Medicine
  • Dr David Okonji, Oncology
  • Dr Kyle Perrin, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Susan Plunkett, Cardiology
  • Dr Grant Pidgeon, Renal Medicine
  • Dr Martin Punter, Neurology
  • Dr Anil Ranchord, Cardiology
  • Dr Bruce Raymond, General Medicine
  • Dr Manjula Ricciardi, Geriatric and Stroke Medicine
  • Gareth Richards
  • Dr David Robiony-Rogers, Respiratory
  • Dr Ian Rosemergy, Neurology
  • Dr Alexander Sasse, Cardiology
  • Dr Mark Simmonds, Cardiology
  • Dr Nicola Smith, Respiratory
  • Dr Jennifer Taylor, Neurology
  • Jen Thompson
  • Dr Tom Thompson, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Thomas Thomson, Internal Medicine
  • Dr David Tripp, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Cindy Towns, Pharmacology
  • Dr Matthew Webber, Cardiology
  • Dr John Wyeth, Gastroenterology

Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturers

  • Dr Nomy Ahmed, Aviation Medicine
  • Dr Mary Andoga, Palliative Medicine
  • Dr Andrew Burns, Infectious Diseases
  • Dr Philip Bypass, General Medicine
  • Dr Chris Cedarwall, Gastroenterology
  • Dr John Delahunt, Endocrinology
  • Dr Chris Duffy, Anaesthesiology
  • Dr Niels Dugan, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Ben Griffiths, Gastroenterology
  • Barbara Grout
  • Dr Ian Gwynne-Robson, Palliative Medicine
  • Dr Martyn Horsfall, Palliative Medicine
  • Dr Sisira Jayathissa, General Medicine
  • Dr Purwa Joshi, Neurology
  • Dr Delamy Keall, Palliative Medicine
  • Dr Marian Kolarsky, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Bernd Kraus, Geriatrics
  • Dr Marion Leighton, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Karim Mahawish, Geriatric and Stroke Medicine
  • Dr Gordon Maxwell, General Medicine
  • Dr Mohib Merchant, General Medicine
  • Dr Manoj Mishra, Endocrinology
  • Dr Richard Moore, Internal Medicine
  • Dr Stuart Mossman, Neurology
  • Dr Nigel Raymond, General Medicine and Infectious Diseases
  • Dr Nigel Stace, Gastroenterology
  • Dr Richard Stein, Gastroenterology
  • Dr Arjun Sugumaran, Gastroenterology
  • Dr Aik Haw Tan, General Medicine
  • Dr Justin Travers, Respitory
  • Dr Miles Williams, Cardiology

^ Top of page

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

  • Calista Fung

Senior Clinical Physiologist

  • Helen Hills
  • Deidre Sheppard

Sleep Technologist

  • Dr Karyn O'Keeffe

Clinical Physiologists

  • Belinda Foote
  • Michi Imazu
  • Abby Johnson
  • James Miller
  • Maarten Ruiter
  • Deidre Sheppard
  • Ryan Sixtus

Sleep Technician

  • Royanna Aldridge
  • Morag Wright-McNaughton

Research Assistant

  • Emna Ben Hassine
  • Wayne Keenan
  • Lena Sutherland
  • Oriwa Sword
  • Annie Yohannan