Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our People at the Department of Classics

Head of Department

Jon Hall new thumbnailJon Hall

MA (St And) PhD (Texas), Professor and Head of Department
Cicero and Roman society
Email jon.hall@otago.ac.nz
Ext. 8714


Academic Staff

Arlene Allan thumbnailArlene Allan

Undergraduate Academic Subject Advisor
BA (Trent), MA (Queen's), PhD (Exeter), Senior Lecturer
Greek literature; Greek religion and ritual; gender studies
Email arlene.allan@otago.ac.nz
Ext. 5237

Sean McConSean McConnell thumbnail newnell

Honours Co-ordinator
BA (Hons) (Otago), MPhil, PhD (Cantab), Lecturer
Greek and Roman philosophy
Email sean.mcconnell@otago.ac.nz
Ext. 8659

Gwynaeth McIntyre thumbnailGwynaeth McIntyre

BA (Victoria, Canada), MA (York University, Canada), PhD (St Andrews), Lecturer
Greek and Roman mythology and religion; Roman political history
Email gwynaeth.mcintyre@otago.ac.nz
Ext. 8710

Dan Osland thumbnailDaniel Osland

BA (Wheaton), MA, PhD (Cinti), Lecturer
Roman Spain
Email dan.osland@otago.ac.nz
Ext. 8711

Pat Wheatley thumbnailPat Wheatley

Postgraduate Co-ordinator
BA (Hons), PhD (UWA), Associate Professor
The Age of Alexander
Email pat.wheatley@otago.ac.nz
Ext. 4042


Affiliated Staff

John A. BarsbyJohn Barsby new thumbnail

MA (Cantab) Cert Ed (Bristol), LittD (Otago), Emeritus Professor
New comedy, especially Plautus and Terence
Email john.barsby@otago.ac.nz
Ext. n/a

William J. DominikWilliam Dominik thumbnail

BA (Pacific), MA (Texas Tech), PhD (Monash), Tchg Cred (Calif), Cert IES (Durham), Emeritus Professor
Roman literature and rhetoric; the Classical tradition/reception; lexicography
Email william.dominik@otago.ac.nz
Ext. n/a

John GarthwaiteJohn Garthwaite thumbnail

BA (Leic), MA, PhD (Cornell), Occasional Lecturer
Roman satire; mythology
Email john.garthwaite@otago.ac.nz
Ext. 8715

Harry LoveHarry Love portrait

BA (Otago), MA (Auckland), PhD (Keele), Honorary Fellow 2015, Tutor
Greek Tragedy
Email hlove@clear.net.nz
Ext. n/a

Gordon TurnerGordon Turner thumbnail

BA (Hons), MA, PhD (Otago), Lecturer (Summer School)
Athenian Navy; Classical reception in television and film
Email gordon.turner@otago.ac.nz
Ext. n/a

^ Top of Page