Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Department Seminars

Economics at Otago is proud to host our departmental seminar series for 2017

Presenters include staff from the Department of Economics and other faculties, as well as scholars visiting from other universities.

Everyone is welcome!

If you have any questions or require further information, please contact the seminar coordinators: trent.smith@otago.ac.nz or dennis.wesselbaum@otago.ac.nz

Venue:  Economics Seminar Room 320, Level 3, Otago Business School
Time:    3 – 4.30pm

Semester 1

Friday 10 February
Onur Koska, Middle East Technical University (METU), Turkey
"A consumer-surplus standard in merger approvals, foreign direct investment, and welfare”

Friday 17 February
Andrew Coleman, University of Otago
"Housing, the great income tax experiment, and the intergenerational consequences of the lease"

Friday 24 February
Dennis Wesselbaum, University of Otago
"Gone with the Wind: International Migration"

Friday 10 March
Martin Berka, The University of Auckland
"Structural determinants of the real exchange deviations in the OECD countries"

MONDAY 27 March - NOTE:  12 - 1.30pm
Frank Staehler, Universitaet Tuebingen
"International Agreements, Economic Sovereignty and Exit"

Friday 31 March
Peter Clough, NZIER
"Cool policy analysis in a warming world"

Friday 7 April
Saten Kumar, AUT
"Firms’ asset holdings and inflation expectations"

Friday 28 April - NOTE:  1.30-3.00pm and venue is the Boardroom 219/220, Level 2, Otago Business School
Andy Puckett, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
"The Performance of Institutional Investors Across the Supply Chain" and is co-authored with Dallin Alldredge (Washington State University)

MONDAY 1 May - NOTE time: 12 - 1.30pm
Victoria Barham, University of Ottawa
"Strategic Philanthropy" by Victoria Barham and Roland Pongou

Friday 5 May
Anella Munro, RBNZ
"Exchange rates, risk and monetary policy"

MONDAY 15 May - NOTE time: 12-1.30pm
Maryam Naghsh Nejad, IZA
"The Human Capital Effects of Hosting Refugees: Evidence from Kagera"

Friday 19 May
Suzi Kerr, MOTU
“An Effective NZ ETS: Clear Price Signals to Guide Low-Emission Investment”

Friday 26 May
Mariah Ehmke, University of Wyoming
"An Economic Analysis of Returns to Beekeeping and Pollination Services"

Semester Two

Friday 28 July
Bénédicte Rouland, AUT
Title to be advised

MONDAY 14 August - NOTE: 12 - 1.30pm
Jan Feld, VIctoria University of Wellington
Title to be advised

Friday 25 August
Anindya Banerjee, University of Birmingham
Title to be advised

MONDAY 4 September - NOTE: 12 - 1.30pm
Kadir Eryigit, Uludag University, Bursa, Turkey
Title to be advised

Friday 8 September
Fang Yao, RBNZ
Title to be advised

Friday 15 September
Stefanie Schurer, University of Sydney
Title to be advised

Friday 22 September
Nick Hanley, Univerity St Andrews
"Long-run indicators of sustainable development"

Friday 30 October
Simona Fabrizi, University of Auckland
Title to be advised