Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Wednesday 14 December 2022 2:47pm

Dr Diana Sarfati is the new Director-General and CEO of the Ministry of Health

Dr Diana Sarfati main
Dr Diana Sarfati

Congratulations to Otago alumna and former Head of the Department of Public Health at the University of Otago, Wellington, Dr Diana Sarfati, who has been appointed Director-General of Health and Chief Executive of the Ministry of Health.
Read more

Professor Anna Wirz-Justice was awarded Daylight Research Award 2022

old Chemistry dept 2017
Professor Anna Wirz-Justice on a visit to Otago in 2017

World authority on sleep and depression research, psychiatric neurobiologist Professor Anna Wirz-Justice has been awarded the prestigious Daylight Research Award 2022.

Professor Emerita at the Centre for Chronobiology, Psychiatric Clinic of the University of Basel in Switzerland, Professor Wirz-Justice graduated from Otago with a BSc and MSc (1964), majoring in Chemistry, and also studied Philosophy, winning the Joseph Pullar Philosophy prize in 1962.
Read more

Tim Horton is the first domestic cricket performance analyst

Tim Horton 1
Tim Horton

Tim Horton (BAppSci, 2021) has been employed at the first performance analyst by a New Zealand domestic cricket team.
Read more

Trish Oakley joins the board of the NZ Institute of Directors

Trish-Oakley main
Trish Oakley

Trish Oakley (BCom, 1995) has been appointed to the New Zealand Institute of Directors board.
Read more

The Dunedin Study awarded prestigious Royal Society of New Zealand Rutherford Medal

dunedin study main
Professor Richie Poulton and senior researcher Professor Murray Thomson

The University of Otago's Dunedin Study – touted as the world's most successful longitudinal study of a general community – has been awarded this year's prestigious Royal Society of New Zealand Rutherford Medal.

The medal was presented to the study's director of 22 years, Professor Richie Poulton and senior researcher Professor Murray Thomson, at a ceremony at the Glenroy Auditorium. Associate director Professor Terrie Moffitt and senior investigator Ashalom Caspi, of Duke University, were also named on the award.
Read more

Dr Jemma Geoghegan in North and South

Dr Gemma Geoghegan main
Dr Jemma Geoghegan

Microbiology and Immunology Senior Lecturer and Covid-19 researcher Dr Jemma Geoghegan is profiled in North and South.
Read more

Simon Tyler is a new director of Heartland Bank

Tyler_Simon main
Simon Tyler

Simon Tyler (MSc, 1985) is a new director of Heartland Bank.
Read more

Brendan Boyle has joined the University Council

brendon boyle main
Brendan Boyle

Brendan Boyle (LLB,1991) has been appointed to the University Council for a four-year term.
Read more

Back to top