Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our People

Email Address  botany@otago.ac.nz
Enquiries  Tel: +64 3 479 7577

Administration

Dr David A. Orlovich
Head of Department
Tel: +64 3 479 9060
hod.botany@otago.ac.nz
Katherine van der Vliet
Office Administrator
Tel: +64 3 479 7577
botany@otago.ac.nz

Academic

Associate Professor David J. Burritt
Functional Biology & Biotechnology, Plants & Seaweeds
Tel: +64 3 479 9057
david.burritt@botany.otago.ac.nz
Professor Katharine J. M. Dickinson
Terrestrial Ecology, Vascular Plants
Tel: +64 3 479 9059
kath.dickinson@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Paul L. Guy
Virology, Plants & Viruses
Tel: +64 3 479 7574
paul.guy@botany.otago.ac.nz
Dr Linn Hoffmann
Marine Eco-Physiology, Phytoplankton
Tel: +64 3 479 7583
linn.hoffmann@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Janice M. Lord
Systematics & Ecology, Vascular Plants
Tel: +64 3 479 5131
janice.lord@botany.otago.ac.nz
Dr Matthew Larcombe
Lecturer, Botany
Tel: +64 3 479 3943
matthew.larcombe@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor David A. Orlovich
Evolutionary biology, Fungi
Tel: +64 3 479 9060
david.orlovich@otago.ac.nz
Dr Tina Summerfield
Molecular Physiology, Cyanobacteria
Tel: +64 3 479 7578
tina.summerfield@botany.otago.ac.nz

Honorary & Emeritus Academic Staff, Postdocs & Research Associates

Prof. Sir Alan Mark
Emeritus Professor Conservation ecology
Tel: +64 3 479 7573
alan.mark@otago.ac.nz
Assoc. Prof. Ilse Breitwieser
Honorary Associate Professor
Systematics
Tel: +64 3 321 9621
Prof. Barbara Barratt
Honorary Professor
Biosecurity
Tel: +64 3 489 9061
barbara.barratt@agresearch.co.nz
Prof. William G. Lee
Honorary Professor
Biogeography
Tel: +64 3 470 7207
Jennifer Bannister
Research Associate
Paleobotany
Tel: +64 3 479 7577
Dr Allison Knight
Research Associate
Lichenology
Tel: +64 3 479 7577

Ecology Degree Programme

Dr Katja Schweikert

Tel: +64 3 471 6146
katja.schweikert@otago.ac.nz
Dr Anna Wood
Teaching Fellow
Tel: +64 3 471 6146
anna.wood@otago.ac.nz

Technical Staff

Pam Cornes
Senior Technical Officer
Tel: +64 3 479 9064
pamela.cornes@otago.ac.nz
Rebecca Macdonald
Laboratory Technician
Tel: +64 3 479 7579
rebecca.macdonald@otago.ac.nz
Susan F. Mackenzie
Technical Assistant
Tel: +64 3 479 7579
susan.mackenzie@botany.otago.ac.nz
Hadley O'Sullivan
IT Technician
Tel: +64 3 479 7571
hadley.osullivan@otago.ac.nz
Toni Renelason
Laboratory Technician
Tel: +64 3 479 7579
toni.renelason@otago.ac.nz
Mr John Steel
Herbarium Technician
Taxonomy, Terrestrial plants
Tel: +64 3 479 9061
john.steel@botany.otago.ac.nz

Postgraduate Students

Supervisor
Rohan Allen PhD, Botany
Linn Hoffmann
Stefanie Barak
MSc, Ecology
Janice Lord
Nusyana Cham Pi PhD, Botany
David Burritt
Jessica Chen
MSc Zoology
Kath Dickinson (co-supervisor)
Esther Dale PhD, Ecology and Evolution
Steven Higgins
Jasmine Divinagracia
MSc, Botany
Paul Guy
Luke EastonPhD, Vertebrate-plant interactions
Kath Dickinson
Sophie Fern
PhD, Botany
Kath Dickinson
Verity Forbes
MSc, Ecology
Kath Dickinson
Laura van Galen
PhD. Botany
Matt Larcombe
Ian Geary, PhD, Geology/Botany Janice Lord
Hanneloor Heynderickx
PhD, Botany
Linn Hoffmann
Natalie HowesPhD, Botany
David Burritt
Yuta Ogawa
MSc, Botany (PLBI)
David Burritt
Paulo Lagos Jimeñez PhD, Marine Science
David Burritt
Bryce Kahlert
MSc, Botany
David Orlovich
Chelsea Kerr
MSc, Botany
David Burritt
Tingling (Lily) Lui PhD, Food Science
David Burritt
Andy Nilsen, PhD, Botany David Orlovich
Patricio Saldivia Perez, PhD, Botany Janice Lord
Kevin Sheridan PhD, Cyanobacteria
Tina Summerfield
Mi Tang PhD, Botany David Burritt
Jake Tully
MSc Zoology
Co-supervised by Kath Dickinson and Janice Lord
Sam West
MSc Ecology
Kath Dickinson
Amirreza Zarekarizi Botany David Burritt

Past Students

Profiles of our prior postgraduate students are available on our Graduates page.

Laboratories/Research Rooms

Research Students, Room II (write up room) Tel: +64 3 471 6219
Pavilion Workroom Tel: +64 3 479 9024
Bannister Laboratory Tel: +64 3 479 4010
Baylis Laboratory Tel: +64 3 479 4573
Holloway Laboratory Tel: +64 3 479 4008
Interim Laboratory Tel: +64 3 479 4009
Shore Laboratory Tel: +64 3 479 9063