Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Founded in 1907, Te Whare Wananga o Ōtākou, Te Kaupeka Pūniho, the University of Otago's Faculty of Dentistry was an early pioneer of dental education and training. Today it remains the only Dental School in Aotearoa New Zealand, and one of the top-50 dental teaching hospitals in the world (QS World University Rankings).

While the Faculty has a long and remarkable history in education, research and service to the community, over the last few years the Faculty has undergone significant change. The modern, purpose-built facility now houses state-of-the-art dental clinics, operating theatres, teaching and research laboratories, seminar rooms, a lecture theatre, student areas and offices.

Through excellence in research and high quality undergraduate and postgraduate education and training, Te Kaupeka Pūniho, the Faculty of Dentistry, aims to improve oral health nationwide and internationally.

Faculty of Dentistry video tours

Take a 6:18 minute video tour of all facilities.

Highlight tour for students

This 2:47 minute video showcases the facilities and technology used by undergraduate dentistry, oral health and dental technology students.

Back to top