Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Department Seminars

Economics at Otago is proud to host our departmental seminar series for 2018

Presenters include staff from the Department of Economics and other faculties, as well as scholars visiting from other universities.

Everyone is welcome!

If you have any questions or require further information, please contact the seminar coordinators: trent.smith@otago.ac.nz or dennis.wesselbaum@otago.ac.nz

Venue:  Economics Seminar Room 320, Level 3, Otago Business School
Time:    3 – 4.30pm

Semester 1

Friday 16 February
Geoffrey Heal, Columbia Business School
"Temperature and Productivity"

Friday 2 March
Bruce Elmslie, University of New Hampshire
"Adam Smith's discovery of Trade Gravity"

Friday 9 March
Ilan Noy, Victoria University Wellington
"Measuring the Impact of Insurance on Urban Recovery with Light: The 2011 New Zealand Earthquake"

Friday 16 March
Frank Staehler, University Tuebingen
"The Organization of International Trade"

Monday 26 March - time: 12pm 
Michael Funke, University of Hamburg
"Out of Sync Subnational Housing Markets and Macroprudential Policies"

Tuesday 27 March - time 3pm
Nick Hanley, University of St Andrews
"Long-run indicators of sustainable development"

Friday 20 April
Robert Kirkby, Victoria University Wellington
Title to be advised

Monday 30 April - time 12pm
Christopher B. Barrett, Cornell University
Title to be advised

Friday 4 May
Thomas Lubik, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
Title to be advised

Friday 25 May
Arthur Grimes, MOTU
title to be advised

Semester 2

Friday 20 July
Shrabani Saha, University of Lincoln
Title to be advised

Friday 24 August
Ryan Greenaway-McGrevy, University of Auckland
Title to be advised

Friday 31 August
Isabelle Sin, MOTU
Title to be advised

Friday 14 September
Ozer Karagedikli, Reserve Bank of New Zealand
Title to be advised