Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Department Seminars

The FDI-Natural Resource Curse: How  Relevant are Institutions? The FDI-Natural Resource Curse: How  Relevant are Institutions? proud to host our departmental seminar series for 2018

Presenters include staff from the Department of Economics and other faculties, as well as scholars visiting from other universities.

Everyone is welcome!

If you have any questions or require further information, please contact the seminar coordinators: trent.smith@otago.ac.nz or dennis.wesselbaum@otago.ac.nz

Venue:  Economics Seminar Room 320, Level 3, Otago Business School
Time:    3 – 4.30pm

Semester 1

Friday 4th May
Thomas Lubik: Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
“Indeterminacy and Imperfect Information”

Friday 16 February
Geoffrey Heal, Columbia Business School
"Temperature and Productivity"

Friday 2 March
Bruce Elmslie, University of New Hampshire
"Adam Smith's discovery of Trade Gravity"

Friday 9 March
Ilan Noy, Victoria University Wellington
"Measuring the Impact of Insurance on Urban Recovery with Light: The 2011 New Zealand Earthquake"

Friday 16 March
Frank Staehler, University Tuebingen
"The Organization of International Trade"

Monday 26 March - time: 12pm 
Michael Funke, University of Hamburg
"Out of Sync Subnational Housing Markets and Macroprudential Policies"

Tuesday 27 March - time 3pm
Nick Hanley, University of St Andrews
"Long-run indicators of sustainable development"

Friday 20 April
Robert Kirkby, Victoria University Wellington
"Machine Learning of Consumption Behaviour"

Tuesday 1 May - time 3pm
Christopher B. Barrett, Cornell University
"Revisiting the Effect of Food Aid on Conflict: A Methodological Caution"

Friday 4 May
Thomas Lubik, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
"Indeterminacy and Imperfect Information"

Friday 25 May
Arthur Grimes, MOTU
"The attractiveness of New Zealand cities: Dynamic adjustment and the role of amenities"

Semester 2

Friday 13 July
Ansgar Wohlschlegel, University of Portsmouth
"Lobbying and Enforcement: Theory and Evidence from Regulatory Enforcement Actions against US Banks"

MONDAY 16 July at 12pm
Dennis Wesselbaum, University of Otago
"Contracts and Firm's Inflation Expectations"

Friday 20 July
Shrabani Saha, University of Lincoln
"The Role of Youth Bulge on Political Instability: Cross-Country Evidence"

OPEN LECTURE:
Wednesday 25 July at 12pm-1pm, 
Room OBS119, Level 1, Otago Business School
Paul Dalziel, Professor of Economics, Lincoln University
Agribusiness and Economics Research Unit
"Wellbeing economics: Implications for central and local government economic policies"

Friday 3 August
William Evans Fellow, Elizabeth Asiedu, University of Kansas
"On the Impact of Income per Capita on Health Outcomes: Is Africa Different?"

MONDAY 6 August at 12pm
William Evans Fellow, Elizabeth Asiedu, University of Kansas
"The FDI-Natural Resource Curse: How  Relevant are Institutions?" 

Friday 10 August
Ben Anderson, University of Southhampton
"SAVE: A large scale randomised control trial approach to testing domestic electricity demand flexibility in the UK"

Friday 24 August  -- NOTE time: 2.00 - 3.30pm
Ryan Greenaway-McGrevy, University of Auckland
“Land use Regulation, the Redevelopment Premium and House prices”

Friday 7 September
Isabelle Sin, MOTU
“What drives the gender wage gap? Examining the roles of sorting productivity differences, and discrimination"

Friday 14 September
Ozer Karagedikli, Reserve Bank of New Zealand
"Quantitative or qualitative forward guidance: Does it matter?"

Friday 21 September
Eberhard Feess, Victoria University of Wellington
"The impact of voting rules and communication in groups on the violation of norms: Theory and evidence from the laboratory"

Friday 5 October
Haiping Zhang, University of Auckland
“Productivity Effects of Financial Integration: the Intangible-Investment Channel”

Friday 12 October
Karsten Chipeniuk, Reserve Bank of New Zealand
"Market measures of inflation dispersion"