Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

The Inter-College Sporting Competition includes ten sporting events carried out over the University's calendar year. Sports are contested between the University of Otago and Polytechnic college communities, all competing to be crowned the Inter-College Sport Champion.

The Competition contains a range of sports, including: Kī o Rahi, touch, football, netball, volleyball, basketball, badminton and more!

Sports are either structured as Ongoing or Festivals. Ongoing Sports take place over six weeks; the first four weeks consist of round robin, while the final two weeks consist of semi finals and finals. Sport Festivals take place over one day and involve a round robin stage before the top 4 teams play off for placings.

Teams earn game points for a win, loss or draw. Teams can also accumulate bonus points which are awarded based on in-game criteria, these vary between each sport. Each team's game points and bonus points are added together to give success points. Final placings are determined by success points. Colleges are awarded podium points based on their placing in each sport, which contributes to the overall sporting competition.

For a full run down on the different sports, structures and points system please refer to the Inter-College Handbook:

Inter-College Competition Handbook (PDF)


Semester 1 Semester 2
College Sports Day Festival Volleyball Ongoing
Kī o Rahi Festival Basketball Ongoing
Football Festival Touch RugbyFestival
Waka Ama Festival Wild Card Series Festival
Badminton Ongoing   
Netball Ongoing 
Back to top