Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Orthopaedic Surgery

Orthopaedic Surgery is a section of the Department of Surgical Sciences. It is located on the third floor of the Dunedin Hospital.

Teaching staff also have clinical commitments in providing an orthopaedic service to the catchment area of the Southern District Health Board. There is a close working relationship with the Musculoskeletal Clinical Practice Group within the hospital in terms of service delivery.

Professor Haxby Abbott
Research Professor
Tel +64 3 474 0999 extn 58615
Mob +64 27 289 0863
Email haxby.abbott@otago.ac.nz

Mr Wesley Bevan
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel +64 3 474 0999
Email wes@wesbevan.co.nz

Mr Christopher Birks
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel +64 3 474 0999
Email christopher.birks@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Alan Carstens
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel +64 3 474 0999
Email alan.carstens@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Michael Chin
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel +64 3 474 0999
Email michael.chin@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Carl Chisholm
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel +64 3 474 0999
Email carl.chisholm@southerndhb.govt.nz

Jason Chua
PhD candidate
Email chuja676@student.otago.ac.nz

Mr John Dunbar
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel +64 3 474 0999
Email john.dunbar@southerndhb.govt.nz

Associate Professor David Gwynne-Jones
Head of section
Tel +64 3 474 0999 extn 58618
Email david.gwynne-jones@otago.ac.nz

Mr Bruce Hodgson  
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel +64 3 474 0999
Email bruce.hodgson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Gary McCoubrey
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel +64 3 474 0999
Email gary.mccoubrey@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Simon McMahon
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel +64 3 474 0999
Email simon.mcmahon@southerndhb.govt.nz

Anupa Pathak
PhD candidate

Dr Yana Pryymachenko
Postdoctoral Fellow

Mr John Scanelli
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel +64 3 474 0999
Email john.scanelli@southerndhb.govt.nz

Saurab Sharma
PhD candidate
Email shasa173@student.otago.ac.nz

Dr Ross Wilson
Research Fellow
Tel +64 3 474 0999 extn 58609
Email ross.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Contact the Orthopaedic Surgery section

Physical location

The Orthopaedic Surgery section is located on the third floor of Dunedin Hospital, 201 Great King Street, Dunedin.

Tel +64 3 470 9402 (hospital extension 59402)
Fax +64 3 470 9680
Email orthopaedic-surgery@otago.ac.nz

Postal address

Section of Orthopaedics
Department of Surgical Sciences
Dunedin School of Medicine
PO Box 56
Dunedin 9054
New Zealand

Further information

Contact Mrs Aroha Meikle (Administrator – Client Services)
Email aroha.meikle@otago.ac.nz