Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Orthopaedic Surgery

Orthopaedic Surgery is a section of the Department of Surgical Sciences. It is located on the third floor of the Dunedin Hospital.

Teaching staff also have clinical commitments in providing an orthopaedic service to the catchment area of the Southern District Health Board. There is a close working relationship with the Musculoskeletal Clinical Practice Group within the hospital in terms of service delivery.

Associate Professor David Gwynne-Jones
Head of section
Tel 64 3 474 0999 extn 58618
Email david.gwynne-jones@otago.ac.nz

Aroha Meikle
Administrative Assistant
Tel 64 3 470 9402 (Hospital extn 59042)
Email aroha.meikle@otago.ac.nz

Professor Jean-Claude Theis
Tel 64 3 474 0999 extn 58623
Email jean-claude.theis@otago.ac.nz

Mr John Dunbar
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel 64 3 474 0999
Email john.dunbar@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Bruce Hodgson  
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel 64 3 474 0999
Email bruce.hodgson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Michael Chin
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel 64 3 474 0999
Email michael.chin@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Simon McMahon
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel 64 3 474 0999
Email simon.mcmahon@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Christopher Birks
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel 64 3 474 0999
Email christopher.birks@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Alan Carstens
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel 64 3 474 0999
Email alan.carstens@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Gary McCoubrey
Clinical Senior Lecturer
Tel 64 3 474 0999
Email gary.mccoubrey@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr John Scanelli
Tel 64 3 474 0999
Email john.scanelli@southerndhb.govt.nz

Professor Haxby Abbott
Research Professor
Tel 64 3 474 0999 extn 58615
Mob 64 27 289 0863
Email haxby.abbott@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ross Wilson
Research Fellow
Tel 64 3 474 0999 extn 58609
Email ross.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Keith Jeffery
Librarian
Tel 64 3 474 0999 extn 58621

Jason Chua
PhD candidate
Email chuja676@student.otago.ac.nz

Saurab Sharma
PhD candidate
Email shasa173@student.otago.ac.nz

Contact the Orthopaedic Surgery section

Physical location

The Orthopaedic Surgery section is located on the third floor of Dunedin Hospital, 201 Great King Street, Dunedin.

Tel 64 3 470 9402 (hospital extension 59402)
Fax 64 3 470 9680
Email orthopaedic-surgery@otago.ac.nz

Postal address

Section of Orthopaedics
Department of Surgical Sciences
Dunedin School of Medicine
PO Box 56
Dunedin 9054
New Zealand

Further information

Contact Mrs Aroha Meikle (Departmental Secretary)
Email aroha.meikle@otago.ac.nz