Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon


Professor Patrick Vakaoti

Academic staff

Craig Hall

Reo rūmaki; Second language acquisition; Silent way of learning

Dr Telesia Kalavite

Pacific Islands Studies; Pacific education; Pacific religion and culture; Indigenous development; Tongan language and translation; Climate change and sustainable development​; Social justice
Pacific Island Studies Programme Co-ordinator

Dr Erica Newman

Adoption of children; Whāngai; Cross-cultural adoption; Inter-country adoption; Identity; Kinship; Representation

Associate Professor Karyn Paringatai

Māori performing arts; Māori language acquisition; Socio-cultural effects of urbanisation; Māori identity; Māori pedagogies; Second language acquisition
Māori Studies Programme Co-ordinator

Dr Jess Pasisi

Climate Change; Pacific Health and Wellbeing; the New Zealand Realm

Dr Emma Powell

Pacific Literatures; Genealogies; the New Zealand Realm

Professor Michael P J Reilly

Polynesian historical traditions; Forms and content of oral traditions; Collectors of Polynesian traditions; Leadership; Language of emotions; Cultural landscapes
Postgraduate Committee Chair

Dr Michelle Schaaf

Cultural studies; Pacific studies; Physical cultural studies; Body studies; Gender studies; Education; Race; Sports studies; Diaspora and identity
Associate Dean (Pacific) Humanities

Paia Taani

Te reo Māori and tikanga Māori, particularly within the contexts of whānau and education

Kare Tipa

Dr Paerau Warbrick

Treaty of Waitangi; Waitangi Tribunal; Māori Land Court; Māori land; Law; New Zealand history; Māori history; Māori politics, iwi, hapū and whānau histories; Autobiography and autoethnography
Indigenous Studies (Development) Programme Co-ordinator
Undergraduate Committee Chair

Teaching fellows

Leighton Williams

MAOR 102 – Semester 1 and 2

Affiliated Staff

Emeritus Professor Lachy Paterson

Māori history (social, cultural, political); Te reo Māori; Niupepa Māori; Race relations; Indigenous textual cultures; Māori print culture.

Emeritus Professor Poia Rewi

Support staff

Robyn Russell


Tel +64 3 479 7384

Scott Bezett


Tel +64 3 479 8674

Back to top