Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Ngā kaimahi o Te Tumu

Acting Dean

  • Professor Lachy Paterson
    Māori history (social, cultural, political); Te reo Māori; Niupepa Māori; Race relations; Indigenous textual cultures; Māori print culture.
    Chair: Undergraduate Committee

Academic staff

  • Craig Hall
    Reo rūmaki; Second language acquisition; Silent way of learning
  • Dr Telesia Kalavite
    Pacific Islands Studies; Pacific education; Pacific religion and culture; Indigenous development; Tongan language and translation; Climate change and sustainable development​; Social justice
    Co-ordinator: Pacific Island Studies programme
  • Dr Michael Fusi Ligaliga
    Domestic and family violence, indigenous conflict resolution practices in the Pacific, peace and conflict in the Pacific, social issues
    Chair: Research Committee
  • Dr Erica Newman
    Adoption of children; Whāngai; Cross-cultural adoption; Inter-country adoption; Identity; Kinship; Representation
    Co-ordinator: Indigenous Development programme
  • Associate Professor Karyn Paringatai
    Māori performing arts; Māori language acquisition; Socio-cultural effects of urbanisation; Māori identity; Māori pedagogies; Second language acquisition
    Currently on research study leave, returning 30 September 2022
  • Megan Potiki
    Based at the Office of Māori Development
    Kāi Tahu history and archives; Kāi Tahu mōteatea; Language loss
    Co-ordinator: Māori Studies programme
  • Dr Emma Powell
  • Professor Michael P J Reilly
    Polynesian historical traditions; Forms and content of oral traditions; Collectors of Polynesian traditions; Leadership; Language of emotions; Cultural landscapes
    Currently on research study leave, returning 1 June 2022
  • Dr Michelle Schaaf
    Cultural studies; Pacific studies; Physical cultural studies; Body studies; Gender studies; Education; Race; Sports studies; Diaspora and identity
    Associate Dean (Pacific) Humanities
    Co-ordinator: Master of Indigenous Studies programme (MIndS)
  • Paia Taani
    Te reo Māori me ōna tikanga, particularly within the contexts of whānau and education
  • Kare Tipa
  • Dr Paerau Warbrick
    Treaty of Waitangi; Waitangi Tribunal; Māori Land Court; Māori land; Law; New Zealand history; Māori history; Māori politics, iwi, hapū and whānau histories; Autobiography and autoethnography
    Co-ordinator: Postgraduate Committee

Teaching fellows

  • Leighton Williams
    MAOR110 – Semester 2 2021
  • Kahurangi Salu
    MAOR208 – Semester 2 2021
  • Valerie Houkamau
    MAOR102 – Semester 2 2021
  • Dr Julia Wilson
    POPH192 – Semester 2 2021

Support staff