Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Department of Pathology and Biomedical Science

Te Tari Mātai Tukumate, Mātai Hauora Koiora

The Department undertakes internationally-renowned research in pathology and biomedical science. This underpins our award winning teaching of postgraduate research students and undergraduate medical students at the University of Otago, Christchurch campus.

PhD, master's and honours opportunities

We welcome enquiries from enthusiastic and highly-motivated students with medical or biomedical science backgrounds. Our PhD, master's and honours programmes provide hands on research experience that will prepare you for a career in research, diagnostics or biotechnology.

Research in pathology and biomedical science

We have seven independent research groups within the department, each with a different biomedical focus:

Members of these research groups are also involved with the following research centres and networks as directors or principal investigators:

Feature links


Postgraduate excellence

The Department won the University’s Postgraduate Research Culture Excellence Award in 2018.

Chambers thumbnail

Leprosy research informs policy

Leprosy continues to be a significant problem in Pacific nations such as kiribati. 

Christine Winterbourn_thumbnail

Christine Winterbourn

The Department hosts Prof Christine Winterbourn, the first woman to receive The Royal Society's Rutherford Medal.