Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Academic staff

Professor Shelley Griffiths – Dean

Taxation and the regulation of capital markets

Professor Margaret Briggs – Convenor of the Postgraduate Programme

Criminal law, property law, family property law

Associate Professor Anna High – Convenor of Student Experience

Evidence, law and feminism, Chinese law, legal theory

Associate Professor Marcelo Rodriguez Ferrere – Convenor of Education

Administrative law, legal theory, the status of animals within the law

Dr Moshood Abdussalam

Contract law, remedial aspects of private and economic analysis of the law

Dr Lucas Clover-Alcolea

Equity and trusts, property, dispute resolution, international investment law, legal history, and legal theory (primarily the classical legal tradition)

Dr Simon Connell

Accidents and the law, accident compensation, no-fault, tort law, contract law, contract interpretation, law of obligations theory, private law theory, negligence

Professor John Dawson

Mental health law, law governing research,Te Tiriti o Waitangi / Treaty of Waitangi settlements

Dr Dawn Duncan

Labour law, employment law, labour market regulation and new forms of work, workers' compensation, ACC and work health and safety, social security law, workplace dispute resolution

Professor Andrew Geddis

Election law, constitutional theory, rights law

Associate Professor Maria Hook

Private international law, international law, international litigation and dispute settlement, tort law

Alex Latu – Pacific Island Law Students' Association (PILSA) Liaison

Media law, legal theory, law and global governance

Dr Jan Mihal

General jurisprudence, the philosophy of law

Associate Professor Selene Mize

Legal ethics, civil liberties, negotiation, mediation, media law, law and psychology

Professor Jessica Palmer

The law of obligations, restitution, equity and commercial law

Mihiata Pirini – Te Roopū Whai Pūtake Liaison

Public and administrative law, Te Tiriti o Waitangi / Treaty of Waitangi's influence on public decision-making, the relationship between tikanga and state law, legal design

Professor Jacinta Ruru

Tikanga and the law, Te Tiriti o Waitangi, Indigenous peoples and the law, Māori scholarship

Professor Struan Scott

Banking law, property law (with particular interest in indefeasibility of title), unjust enrichment, corporate governance

Stephen Eliot Smith

International law, international criminal law, legal history, church and state

Dr Jeanne Snelling

Health law, the regulation of biomedical technologies

Dr Lili Song

Refugee law, Chinese law, Pacific law, law of the sea, public international law issues relating to China or South Pacific island states

Professor Nicki Taylor – Director of Children's Issues Centre

Child and family law, parental separation, relocation, international child abduction, children's participation in legal proceedings

Associate Professor Bridgette Toy-Cronin

Access to justice, litigants and disputants, dispute resolution design, socio-legal methods for civil justice research

Metiria Stanton Turei

Mātāpono Ture o te Māori / Māori legal principles, Te Mātauranga Ture o te Māori / Māori jurisprudence and Te Ariā ā-Ture o ngā Iwi Taketake / Indigenous Legal Theory

Professor Nicola Wheen

Environmental law, public law, Te Tiriti o Waitangi / Treaty of Waitangi, international environmental law

Associate Professor Edward Willis

Constitutional theory, public law, competition law, business regulation

Dr Stephen Young

International human rights law, laws and Indigenous peoples, private law, duties and obligations


Judi-Eathorne-Gould – New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII) Administrator

Ben Nevell – Professional Legal Skills Co-ordinator

Kayla Stewart – Assistant Research Fellow

Metiria Stanton Turei – Research Fellow

Children's Issues Centre

Professor Nicki Taylor – Director

Dr Megan Gollop – Deputy Director, Senior Research Fellow


Children's Issues Centre

New Zealand Law Foundation Centre for Law and Policy in Emerging Technologies

Director – TBC

Part-time academic staff

Jim Guest

Professor Ceri Warnock

Leo Watson

Emeritus Professors

Professor Rex Ahdar

Professor Stuart Anderson

Professor Geoff Hall

Professor Nicola Peart

Professor Paul Roth

Professor Peter Skegg

Professor John Smillie

Honorary Professors

Professor Mindy Chen-Wishart

Professor Don McRae

Professor Jeremy Waldron

Research interests

Academic staff areas of research interest

Administrative staff

All general enquiries please contact:

Nikki Kennedy – Lead Administrator


Nagendra Balli – Administrator


Jen Pearce – Administrator


Rebecca Sandford – Administrator


Anja Theron – Administrator


Back to top