Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our people in the Department of Psychology

Head of Department

Thumbnail Mike Colombo

Professor Mike Colombo BA(Colorado) MS PhD(Rutgers)
Email psyhod@psy.otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Norma Bartlett

Norma Bartlett
Administrator Client Services
Please phone to make appointments to see Mike:
Tel (479) 7644
Email psyhod@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Academic Staff

Thumbnail Cliff Abraham Professor Cliff Abraham BA(Virg) PhD(Flor) FRSNZ
Neural mechanisms of learning and memory, cellular and molecular events underlying nervous system plasticity and Alzheimer’s disease.
Thumbnail Brent Alsop

Dr Brent Alsop MSc PhD(Auck)
Experimental analysis of human and animal behaviour in detection and choice procedures.

vanessa-thumb

Dr Vanessa Beanland BAppSc(Deakin) GradCertInfoMgt(RMIT) MBioethics(Monash) BSc(Hons) PhD(ANU)
Human factors, applied cognitive psychology, transport safety, visual attention.

Thumbnail David Bilkey

Professor David Bilkey BA(Hons) PhD(Otago)
Biological basis of memory and learning. Spatial memory and navigation. Hippocampal function in schizophrenia.

Thumbnail Mike Colombo

Professor Mike Colombo BA(Colorado) MS PhD(Rutgers)
Neural basis of memory and learning, effects of brain damage on behaviour, comparative animal cognition.

Thumbnail Tamlin Conner Dr Tamlin Conner BA(Colorado) PhD(Boston College)
Emotional and physical well-being, happiness, nutrition, genetics, mobile-phone based experience sampling methods.
Thumbnail Liz Franz Professor Liz Franz BA(Whittier) MSc PhD(Purdue)
Planning, attention, and memory processes of complex actions in neurologically-normal and impaired individuals, with a specific focus on bimanual skills.
Thumbnail Jamin Halberstadt Professor Jamin Halberstadt BA(Swarth) PhD(Indiana)
Interaction of emotion and cognition, intuition and reasoning in decision making, social cognition.
Harlene Hayne Professor Harlene Hayne ONZM BA(Colorado) MS PhD(Rutgers) FRSNZ

Memory development in infants and children, childhood amnesia, the development of children’s drawing skills, interviewing children in clinical and legal contexts, risk-taking by adolescents.

Thumbnail Dione Healy Dr Dione Healey BA(Hons) MSc PhD DipClinPsych(Cant)
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, temperament and psychopathology, neuropsychological development in childhood.
Thumbnail Kristin Hillman

Dr Kristin Hillman BSc PhD(North Dakota)
Neural basis of decision-making and motivation, effects of training/drugs/brain stimulation on goal-directed behaviour.

Thumbnail Jackie Hunter Associate Professor Jackie Hunter BSc DPhil(Ulster)
Social identity, self-esteem, prejudice, intergroup relations.
Thumbnail Richard Linscott Dr Richard Linscott BSc(Hons) PhD GDipCIPs(Otago)
Schizophrenia and risk for psychosis; ethics and informed consent; taxometrics.
Thumbnail Liana Machado Associate Professor Liana Machado BA(UCLA) PhD(UCDavis)
Neuropsychology, visual attention, automaticity, and control.
Thumbnail Neil McNaughton Professor Neil McNaughton MA(Oxf) PhD(S'ton)
The neural basis of anxiety and its disorders; the Reinforcement Sensitivity Theory of human personality; neuroeconomics; the contribution of theta rhythm to these various aspects of mental processing.
Thumb Jeff Miller Professor Jeff Miller BA(Ohio State) PhD(Mich) FRSNZ
Cognitive psychology and psychophysiology, visual perception and attention, mathematical and statistical models and methods.
Thumbnail Janice Murray Associate Professor Janice Murray BSc(Dal) MA PhD(Wat)
Visual cognition, face and object recognition, face perception and aging, visual attention.
Thumbnail David O'Hare Professor David O’Hare BA PhD(Exe)
Cognitive ergonomics, human factors, aviation psychology, expertise and decision-making.
Richie Poulton Professor Richie Poulton CNZM MSc PGDipClPs(Otago) PhD(NSW) FRSNZ
Developmental psychopathology, gene X environment prediction of complex disorders, and psychosocial determinants of chronic physical disease.
Thumbnail Elaine Reese Professor Elaine Reese BA(Trin Texas) MA PhD(Emory)

Research interests: autobiographical memory development; language and literacy development; social influences on cognitive development.

Thumbnail Ted Ruffman Professor Ted Ruffman BA(York Can) MEd PhD(Tor)
Social understanding in infants, children, older adults, and dogs.
Thumbnail Damian Scarf Dr Damian Scarf BSc PhD(Otago)
Comparative animal cognition; eg, testing the ability of pigeons to learn novel sequences and solve problems. Developmental psychology; eg, testing the ability of 3- and 4-year-old children to plan for the future and delay gratification.
Sellbom-Martin-thumb Associate Professor Martin Sellbom BA(Tri State) MA(Ball State) PhD(Clinical)(Kent State)
Integration of personality and psychopathology; personality disorders; psychopathy; personality assessment; forensic psychology.
Thumbnail Libby Shaughency Dr Elizabeth Schaughency BS(Pittsburgh) MS PhD(Georgia)
How to promote evidence-based practices and decision-making to bridge the research-to-practice gap in professional practice with children.
Thumbnail Mele Taumoepeau Dr Mele Taumoepeau BA(Well) BSc(Hons) QM Edin) PhD(Otago)
Children’s social understanding, parent-child conversations about mental states, culture and social understanding
Thumbnail Gareth Treharne Dr Gareth Treharne BSc(Hons) PhD(Birm)
The experience of chronic illness. Treatment decisions and adherence to medications and lifestyle advice. Social constructions of health, illness and identity. Reflexivity and research methods.
Ryan Ward2 Dr Ryan Ward BS MS PhD (Utah State)
Neurobiology of motivation, cognition, and their interaction, temporal information processing and learning
Thumb Rachel Zajac Associate Professor Rachel Zajac BSc BA(Hons) PhD PGDipCIPs(Otago)
Psychology and the law, eyewitness testimony, legal/investigative procedures for witnesses.

^ Top of Page

^ Top of page

Emeritus Professors

j-flynn Emeritus Professor James Flynn MA PhD(Chicago) HonDSc(Otago) FRSNZ     
Emeritus Professor, Joint Department of Politics
Bob Knight Emeritus Professor Bob Knight MA PhD DipClinPsych(Cant) FNZPsS    
Emeritus Professor, Retired
Thumbnail Geoff White Emeritus Professor Geoff White ONZM BSc PhD(Otago) FNZPsS FAPS FABAI FRSNZ
Emeritus Professor, Retired

^ Top of Page

Professional Practice Fellows

Thumbnail Brian Dixon Brian Dixon BSc PGDipSci MSc DipCIPs(Otago) FNZPsS
Tel (479) 7625
Email brian@psy.otago.ac.nz
sasha-thumb Sasha McComb BA MA(Massey) PGDipCIPs(Otago)
Tel (479) 4229
Email sasha.mccomb@otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Jo Prince Joanna Prince BSc MSc PGDipCIPs(Otago)
Tel (479) 4229
Email jprince@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Phillipa Youard Philippa Youard BSc(Hons) MSc PGDipCIPs(Otago)
Tel (479)4227
Email philippa@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Teaching Fellows

Thumbnail Celia Lie Dr Celia Lie BSc(Hons) PhD(Otago)
100-Level Teaching Fellow
Tel (479) 3765
Email celia@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Ann Reynolds Dr Ann Reynolds BA(Massey) MA PhD(Otago)
200-Level Teaching Fellow
Tel (479) 7646
Email ann@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Academic Research Fellows

Jules Gross

Dr Julien Gross BSc PGDipSci MSc PhD(Otago)
Senior Research Fellow, Early Learning Project
Tel (479) 8843
Email jules@psy.otago.ac.nz

Dr Owen Jones BSc(Hons)(Liverpool) PGDipSci PhD(Otago)
Research Fellow, Neural Mechanisms of Memory Lab
Tel (479) 7632
Email owen.jones@otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Bruce Mockett

Dr Bruce Mockett BSc DipSci PhD(Massey)
Research Fellow, Neural Mechanisms of Memory Lab
Tel (479) 3474
Email mockettb@psy.otago.ac.nz

Sandhya-Ramrakha thumb

Dr Sandhya Ramrakha BA(Honolulu) MA(Sydney) MA(Hons) ClinPsy (Woollangong) PhD(Otago)
Senior Research Fellow / Research Manager, DMHDRU
Tel (479) 5019
Email sandhya.ramrakha@otago.ac.nz

Moana-Theodore

Dr Reremoana (Moana) Theodore BA(Auck) PGDipArts(Otago) PhD(Auck)
(Ngapuhi, Te Arawa)
Senior Research Fellow, NCLR
Tel (479) 4171
Email moana.theodore@otago.ac.nz

Karen-Tustin

Dr Karen Tustin BA(Hons) PhD(Otago)
Research Fellow – Graduate Longitudinal Study NZ (GLSNZ), NCLR
Tel (479) 5089
Email karen.tustin@otago.ac.nz

calvin-thumb Dr Calvin Young BSc(Hons) MSc(Otago) PhD(Calg)
Neuropsychology of Anxiety Lab
Tel (479) 5835
Email calvin.young@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr Jillian Hayhurst BSc MSc PhD(Otago)
Tel (479) 8843
Email jill@psy.otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Shane Ohline Dr Shane Ohline BA(Grinnell College) PhD(UCLA) DipGrad(Otago)
Neural Mechanisms of Memory Lab
Tel (479) 7632
Email shane@psy.otago.ac.nz
blake-thumb Dr Blake Porter BA(Hons)(BU) PhD(Otago)
Tel (479) 7297
Email blake.porter@otago.ac.nz

Shabah-Shadli

Dr Shabah Shadli BSc(Hons) MSc(Bangladesh) PhD(Otago)
Neuropsychology of Anxiety Lab
Tel (479) 5835
Email shabah.shadli@otago.ac.nz<

anurag-thumb Dr Anurag Singh BSc(VBS Purv) MSc(Jiw) PhD(Otago)
Tel (479) 5835
Email anurag.singh@otago.ac.nz

weiwei-thumb Dr Weiwei Zhang BS(BNU) MS(SWU) PhD(Otago)
Tel (479) 5835
Email weiwei.zhang@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Research Staff

jane-thumb Dr Jane Carroll PGDipLitEd(Auck) BEd(Cant) DipTchg(SLT(ChchCE)PhD(Cant)
Tel (479) 5267
Email jane.carroll@otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Jackie Clearwater

Jackie Clearwater
Early Learning Project
Tel (479) 7642
Email jackie@psy.otago.ac.nz

Vanessa Hayes

Vanessa Hayes BA(Hons)(Brighton Poly) MSocWk(York)
Research Interviewer, DMHDRU
Tel 022 199 4451 (Wellington)
Email vanessa.hayes@otago.ac.nz

Sean-Hogan

Sean Hogan BA(Hons)(Surrey) MSW(York) GIPM(KingstonBus)
Cohort and Assessment Manager, DMHDRU
Tel (479) 5551
Email sean.hogan@otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Barbara Logan Barbara Logan BSc DipSci(Otago)
Neural Mechanisms of Memory Lab
Tel (479) 7632
Email blogan@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Sarah-Jane Robertson Sarah-Jane Robertson BA MA(Otago)
Autobiographical Memory and Literacy Development Lab
Tel (479) 3934
Email sarah-jane@psy.otago.ac.nz
Fu-Yan Dr Fu Yan BSc(SWU) MED(BNU) PhD(Otago)
Action, Brain and Cognition Lab
Tel (479) 5778
Email fuyan@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Technical Staff

Thumbnail Jeremy Anderson Jeremy Anderson (NZCE)
Senior Technical Officer / Lab Manager
Tel (479) 7669
Email jeremy@psy.otago.ac.nz
francis-thumb Francis Baster
Technician
Tel (479) 7668
Email francis@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Jason Campbell Jason Campbell (NDE)
Technician
Tel (479) 7668
Email jason@psy.otago.ac.nz
Sophie French
Technician
Tel (479) 5945
Email sophie.french@otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Richard Hamelink Richard Hamelink (NZCE)
Technician
Tel (479) 7668
Email richard@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Natasha O'Docherty Natasha O'Docherty
Technician
Tel (479) 5945
Email tashaod@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Paul O'Donnell Paul O'Donnell
IT Support
Tel (479) 7635
Email paul@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Russell Phillips Russell Phillips (NZCE)
Technical Officer
Tel (479) 7668
Email russell@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Lindsay Robertson Lindsay Robertson (NZCE)
Senior Technician / Safety Officer
Tel (479) 7668
Email lindsay@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Stephanie Sherbund Stephanie Sherburd
Technician
Tel (479) 5945
Email steph@psy.otago.ac.nz
William van der Vliet BA BSc(Otago)
Computer Programmer
Tel (479) 7637
Email william@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Hayden Youens Hadyn Youens BSc/BCom(Otago)
Computer Programmer
Tel (479) 5402
Email hadyn@psy.otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Administrative Staff

Email di@psy.otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Norma Bartlett Norma Bartlett
Administrator Client Services
Tel (479) 7644
Email psyhod@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail Kally Barton

Kally Barton
Administrator Client Services
Tel (479) 7627
Email clinicaladmin@psy.otago.ac.nz

Sabrina Goh_thumbnail

Sabrina Goh BA(Hons) MSc(Otago)
Administrator Client Services
Tel (479) 5049
Email sabrina@psy.otago.ac.nz

Dan Houghton BOccTher(Otago Polytechnic)
Kaiāwhina Māori
Email kaiawhina@psy.otago.ac.nz
Thumbnail  Diane Inder Diane Inder
Administrator Client Services
Tel (479) 7631
Email di@psy.otago.ac.nz

Neka Kater
Administrator, Brain Research NZ – Ranghau Roro Aotearoa
Tel (479) 8812
Email neka.kater@otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Michelle Moss Michelle Moss
Lead Administrator Client Services
Tel (479) 6541
Email michelle@psy.otago.ac.nz
Alexandra-Sweetman

Alex Sweetman BA/LLB(Auck)
Business Manager, Brain Research NZ – Ranghau Roro Aotearoa
Tel (479) 8818
Email alexandra.sweetman@otago.ac.nz

Thumbnail Jacinta Taylor Jacinta Taylor BCom(Otago)
Finance Associate
Tel (479) 7521
Email jacinta.taylor@otago.ac.nz
Jane Wilcox BSc(Hons)(Manc)
Administrator Client Services
Tel (479) 8507
Email jane.wilcox@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Research Units

Brain Research NZ - Ranghau Roro Aotearoa

Thumbnail Cliff Abraham

Professor Cliff Abraham BA(Virg) PhD(Flor) FRSNZ
Director
Tel (479) 7648
Email cliff.abraham@otago.ac.nz

Alexandra-Sweetman Alex Sweetman BA/LLB(Auck)
Business Manager
Tel (479) 8818
Email alexandra.sweetman@otago.ac.nz

Neka Kater
Administrator
Tel (479) 8812
Email neka.kater@otago.ac.nz

Dunedin Multidisciplinary Health & Development Research Unit (DMHDRU)

Shika Das
Research Interviewer
Email shika.das@otago.ac.nz

Richie Poulton

Professor Richie Poulton CNZM MSc PGDipClPs(Otago) PhD(NSW) FRSNZ
Director
Tel (479) 8507
Email richie.poulton@otago.ac.nz

Jane Wilcox BSc(Hons)(Manc)
Administrator Client Services
Tel (479) 8507
Email jane.wilcox@otago.ac.nz

Vanessa Hayes

Vanessa Hayes BA(Hons)(Brighton Poly) MSocWk(York)
Research Interviewer
Tel (479) 5550
Email vanessa.hayes@otago.ac.nz

Sean-Hogan

Sean Hogan BA(Hons)(Surrey) MSW(York) GIPM(KingstonBus)
Cohort and Assessment Manager
Tel (479) 5551
Email sean.hogan@otago.ac.nz

Jennifer Knox LLB(Otago)
Study Member Assessment Coordinator
Tel (479) 8508
Email jennifer.knox@otago.ac.nz

Sandhya-Ramrakha

Dr Sandhya Ramrakha BA(Honolulu) MA(Sydney) MA(Hons)ClinPsy (Woollangong) PhD(Otago)
Senior Research Fellow / Research Manager
Tel (479) 5019
Email sandhya.ramrakha@otago.ac.nz

Antony Ambler BSc(Hons)(Kingston[UK]) MSc(Lanc)
Tel (479) 5239
Scientific Officer
Email antony.ambler@otago.ac.nz

Elena Bayly-McCredie BNurs(Otago)
Research Technician
Email elena.bayly-mccredie@otago.ac.nz

Liz Berry RN
Research Technician
Email liz.berry@otago.ac.nz

jane-thumb Dr Jane Carroll PGDipLitEd(Auck) BEd(Cant) DipTchg(SLT(ChchCE)PhD(Cant)
Tel (479) 5550
Research Technician
Email jane.carroll@otago.ac.nz

Kirsten-Cheyne

Dr Kirsten Cheyne BSc PhD(Otago)
Research Technician
Tel (479) 8507
Email kirsten.cheyne@otago.ac.nz

Denise Ching NZRN (Mental Health)
Research Interviewer
Email denise.ching@otago.ac.nz

Marissa George
Cohort Tracer/Administration Assistant Interviewer
Email marissa.george@otago.ac.nz

Liz Glen NZRN PGDipHSc(Auck)
Research Technician
Email liz.glen @otago.ac.nz

Liz Goodin BMedSc PGDipSc MSc(Otago)
Biorepository Manager
Email liz.goodin @otago.ac.nz

Dr David Ireland BMedScHon(Syd) PhD(NSW)
Tel (479) 5550
Research Technician
Email david.ireland@otago.ac.nz

Joan Leung BA BA(Hons)(Auck)
Scientific Officer
Email joan.leung@otago.ac.nz

Nikki Lloyd BCom(Hons)(Otago)
Research Interviewer
Email nikki.lloyd@otago.ac.nz

Lynda Morrison NZCS BSc(Otago)
Research Technician
Email lynda.morrison@otago.ac.nz

Max Nicholson
Research Interviewer
Email max.nicholson@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Parker MA DipClPs MSc(Otago)
Research Interviewer
Email fiona.parker@otago.ac.nz

Dr Melissa Purnell BSc PGCertHealSc MSc PhD(Otago)
Research Interviewer
Email melissa.purnell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Katherine Sneddon BSc PhD DPH(Otago)
Research Technician
Email katherine.sneddon@otago.ac.nz

Hanne Stegen MLPAT
Research Technician
Email hanne-friederike.stegen@otago.ac.nz

Barbara Steptoe DOT(Otago)
Research Technician
Email barbara.steptoe@otago.ac.nz

Rose Thurlow BSc MSc(Otago)
Administrative Assistant
Email rosanne.thurlow@otago.ac.nz

National Centre for Lifecourse Research

Richie Poulton

Professor Richie Poulton MSc PGDipClPs(Otago) PhD(NSW) FRSNZ
Co-Director
Tel (479) 8507
Email richie.poulton@otago.ac.nz

Moana-Theodore

Dr Reremoana (Moana) Theodore BA(Auck) PGDipArts(Otago) PhD(Auck)
(Ngapuhi, Te Arawa)
Senior Research Fellow
Tel (479) 4171
Email moana.theodore@otago.ac.nz

Karen-Tustin

Dr Karen Tustin BA(Hons) PhD(Otago)
Research Fellow – Graduate Longitudinal Study NZ (GLSNZ)
Tel (479) 5089
Email karen.tustin@otago.ac.nz