Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our People in the Department of Primary Health Care and General Practice

Head of Department

Dr Lynn McBain Senior Lecturer beyond the Bar

Email lynn.mcbain@otago.ac.nz

Directors

Professor Sue Pullon
Email sue.pullon@otago.ac.nz

Eileen McKinlay (Postgraduate programme)
Associate Professor
Email eileen.mckinlay@otago.ac.nz

Dr Maria Stubbe (Research)
Senior Lecturer Beyond the Bar
Email maria.stubbe@otago.ac.nz

Professor

Professor Tony Dowell

Email tony.dowell@otago.ac.nz

Department Manager

Jo Meaclem
Email johanna.meaclem@otago.ac.nz

Senior Lecturers

Dr Angela Ballantyne
Email angela.ballantyne@otago.ac.nz

Dr Shaun Counsell
Email shaun.counsell@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ben Darlow
Email ben.darlow@otago.ac.nz

Dr Ben Gray
Email ben.gray@otago.ac.nz

Lesley Gray
Email lesley.gray@otago.ac.nz

Dr Pauline Horrill
Email pauline.horrill@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jonathan Kennedy
Email jonathan.kennedy@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sam Murton
Email samantha.murton@otago.ac.nz

Dr Caroline Morris
Email caroline.morris@otago.ac.nz

Dr Jenny Visser
Email jenny.visser@otago.ac.nz

Senior Research Fellows

Dr Sally Rose
Email sally.rose@otago.ac.nz

Dr James Stanley (Biostatistician)
Email james.stanley@otago.ac.nz

Research Fellows

Sue Garrett
Email sue.garrett@otago.ac.nz

Jo Hilder
Email jo.hilder@otago.ac.nz

Sonya Morgan
Email sonya.morgan@otago.ac.nz

Rachel Tester (Applied Research into Communication in Health)
Email rachel.tester@otago.ac.nz

Administrative Staff

Jo Meaclem (Department Manager)
Email johanna.meaclem@otago.ac.nz

Hazel Phillips (Research Programme Coordinator)
Email hazel.phillips@otago.ac.nz

Katrina Fitzgibbon (Undergraduate Programme Coordinator)
Email katrina.fitzgibbon@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Curran (Undergraduate Programme Coordinator)
Email fiona.curran@otago.ac.nz

Jane Sparkes (Undergraduate Programme Coordinator)
Email jane.sparkes@otago.ac.nz

Corry Joseph  (Postgraduate Programme Coordinator)
Email corry.joseph@otago.ac.nz

Amanda Garnett (Undergraduate Programme Coordinator, and Interprofessional Education (IPE) Campus Administrator)
Email amanda.garnett@otago.ac.nz

Tairawhiti Staff

Wellington based:
Sue Pullon (Programme Director)
Email sue.pullon@otago.ac.nz

Christine Wilson (Tairawhiti Inter-Professional Programme Manager)
Email christine.w@otago.ac.nz

Gisborne based:
Patrick McHugh (Programme Leader & Senior Lecturer - Medicine)
Email pj.mchugh@otago.ac.nz

Elizabeth Rose Schwass (Programme Administrator)
Email rose.schwass@otago.ac.nz

J David Edgar (Professional Practice Fellow - Dental)
Email dentalcentre@gisborne.net.nz

Sara Bodel (Professional Practice Fellow - Dietetics)
Email Sara.Bodel@tdh.org.nz

Andrea Seymour (Professional Practice Fellow - Nursing)
Email andrea.seymour@tdh.org.nz

Anne Pearce (Professional Practice Fellow - Physiotherapy)
Email Anne.Pearce@tdh.org.nz

Honorary Staff

Dr Tom Love (Sapere Research Group)
Honorary Senior Research Fellow

Sonya Smith (Wairoa Hospital, Hawkes Bay DHB)
Honorary Professional Practice Fellow (Wairoa Tairāwhiti Interprofessional Programme)
Email 
Sonya.Smith@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

Mark Kopua (Tairāwhiti District Health Board)    
Honorary Professional Practice Fellow (Hauora Māori Tairāwhiti Interprofessional Programme)  
Email Mark.Kopua@tdh.org.nz

Nigel Whitehead (Tairāwhiti District Health Board) 
Honorary Professional Practice Fellow (Occupational Therapy Tairāwhiti Interprofessional Programme)  
Email Nigel.Whitehead@tdh.org.nz