Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Professor Joanne Baxter, Dean, warmly welcomes you to the Dunedin School of Medicine, Te Kura Whaiora o Ōtepoti.

Tēnei te mihi ki a koutou katoa. Nau mai, haere mai, whakatau mai.

Te Kura Whaiora a Ōtepoti / Dunedin School of Medicine

The Dunedin School of Medicine (DSM) is based on the Dunedin Campus of the University of Otago.  It is home to eight diverse academic departments.

The School also includes the Dean's Department, providing strategic and administrative support for the Dean and the School.

The Dean's Department

More about the School and its departments

About the Dean

Joanne Baxter photo 2022
Professor Joanne Baxter.
Photo: Alan Dove

Professor Joanne Baxter (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Mamoe, Waitaha, Ngāti Apa ki te Rā Tō) commenced in the role of the Dean of the Dunedin School of Medicine on 1 July 2022.

Joanne is a Public Health Medicine physician with a 30-year background in health and education sectors. She has over 20 years of experience working in the Dunedin School of Medicine, concurrent with more than 10 years in roles in the Division of Health Sciences.

Joanne is recognised for her leadership and research on Māori health and mental health, public health, health inequity, medical education and health workforce development. She is committed to supporting the DSM to realise its vision to contribute to health and health science, fostering equity and response to Te Tiriti o Waitangi, partnering with health services and supporting its students and staff to thrive.

Māori values underpin my approach to leadership including values of whakawhanaungatanga – strong relationships and connections, whakamana – upholding mana and integrity, and manaakitanga – generosity, support and looking after.”



Joanne is recognised for her research on Māori mental health, ethnic health inequalities, indigenous medical education and Māori health workforce development.

Details of her research

Contact details

Tel +64 3 470 9907 (Dunedin Hospital extension 59907)

Dean's Department

Academic staff

Professional staff

Heads of academic departments

More about Te Kura Whaiora a Ōtepoti / Dunedin School of Medicine

The Dunedin School of Medicine delivers a range of undergraduate programmes including the Bachelor of Health Science, the Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Science and the Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery.

It also delivers postgraduate programmes spanning many disciplines including in rural health, medical practice and specialty areas, public health and others. The School fosters a vibrant and active research culture and supports a diversity of researchers and research groups.

The Dunedin School of Medicine has a long history of academic excellence and contribution to health and health science education, research, service and outcomes.

Moving forward, the School aims to work collectively to build on this activity, further strengthening its contribution to the health of individuals, whānau and communities, locally, nationally and internationally. The School aims to foster transformational change aligned with a vision for equity and to responsiveness to Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

Academic departments

Back to top