Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

List of Heads of Departments (HODs)


Last Modified: Monday, 11 November 2019

Academic Division

Name Position Section/Department/School/Division
Associate Professor P. A. Cragg Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic
Associate Professor B.K. Daniel Head HEDC

Division of Commerce

Name Position Section/Department/School/Division
Professor R. Gauld Pro-Vice-Chancellor Division of Commerce
Associate Professor R. H. Whiting Head Department of Accountancy & Finance
Professor P Hansen Head Department of Economics
Professor H.T. Regenbrecht Head Department of Information Science
Associate Professor F.J. Edgar Head Department of Management
Associate Professor R. Aitken Head Department of Marketing
Professor N. Carr Head Department of Tourism
Mr I. Lafferty Director Executive Programmes

^ Top of page

Division of Health Sciences

Name Position Section/Department/School/Division
Professor P. Brunton Pro-Vice-Chancellor Division of Health Sciences

Faculty of Dentistry

Professor K. M. Lyons Dean Faculty of Dentistry
Dr P. Cathro Head Oral Rehabilitation
Associate Professor G. Tompkins Head Oral Sciences
Professor D. Tong Head Oral Diagnostic and Surgical Sciences
Professor R. D. Cannon Director Sir John Walsh Research Institute

Otago Medical School

Acting Dean Professor B. J. Taylor Dean Otago Medical School

Otago School of Biomedical Sciences

Professor V. K .Ward Dean Otago School of Biomedical Sciences
Professor L Matisoo-Smith Head Department of Anatomy
Professor C. Day Head Department of Biochemistry
Professor G. M. Cook Head Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Professor M. Glass Head Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Professor F.J. McDonald Head Department of Physiology
Mr S. W. Rhodes Head Hercus-Taieri Resource Unit

University of Otago, Christchurch

Professor D.R. Murdoch Dean University of Otago, Christchurch
Professor E. A. Shipton Head Department of Anaesthesia
Dr B. Hudson Head Department of General Practice
Professor R B Gearry Head Department of Medicine
Dr J. E. Gullam Head Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Professor G. J. Hooper Head Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Musculoskeletal Medicine
Professor A. S. Day Head Department of Paediatrics
Professor M. A. Kennedy Head Department of Pathology and Biomedical Science
Associate Professor G.M. Abel Head Department of Population Health
Professor R. J. Porter Head Department of Psychological Medicine
Professor A. Butler Head Radiology (Section)
Associate Professor T. W. Eglinton Head Department of Surgery
Associate Professor Seaton Head Centre for Postgraduate Nursing Studies

Dunedin School of Medicine

Professor B. J .Taylor Dean Dunedin School of Medicine
Associate Professor L.C. Anderson Head Bioethics Centre
Dr C. Atmore Head Department of General Practice and Rural Health
Associate Professor M. Schultz Head Department of Medicine
Professor S. Young Head Department of Pathology
Associate Professor P. Priest Head Department of Preventive and Social Medicine
Professor K. Scott Head Department of Psychological Medicine
Associate Professor M. Thompson-Fawcett Head Department of Surgical Sciences
Associate Professor M. Stitely Head Department of Women's and Children's Health

University of Otago, Wellington

Professor S. Collings Dean University of Otago, Wellington
Associate Professor P. D. Larsen Head Department of Surgery and Anaesthesia
Associate Professor P. D.Larsen Head Department of Radiation Therapy
Professor A. Ranta Head Department of Medicine
Dr A. Ekeroma Head Department of Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Women’s Health
Professor D. E. Elder Head Department of Paediatrics and Child Health
Associate Professor D. Kenwright Head Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine
Dr L.C. McBain Head Department of Primary Healthcare and General Practice
Dr S. Every-Palmer Head Department of Psychological Medicine
Professor D. Sarfati Head Department of Public Health

School of Pharmacy

Professor C. Marra Dean School of Pharmacy

School of Physiotherapy

Professor L. A. Hale Dean School of Physiotherapy

^ Top of page

Division of Humanities

Name Position Section/Programme/School/Division
Professor A. Ballantyne Pro-Vice-Chancellor Division of Humanities

University of Otago College of Education

Professor G.R. Notman Dean College of Education

Faculty of Law

Professor J. Palmer Dean Faculty of Law
Dr B. Toy-Cronin Director Centre for Legal Issues
Associate Professor N. Taylor Director Children's Issues Centre
Associate Professor C. Gavaghan Director Emerging Technologies

School of Arts

Associate Professor T. Cooper Head School of Arts

Programmes and Centres

Professor Liam McIlvanney Director Centre for Irish and Scottish Studies
Dr S. McConnell Head Classics
Dr H. Hatfield Head English and Linguistics
Associate Professor J. Stenhouse Head History
Dr A. Alm Head Languages and Cultures
Associate Professor A. Moore Head Philosophy
Revd Associate Professor C. Holmes Head Theology
Professor D. Tombs Director Centre for Theology and Public Issues

School of Geography

Professor M. Thompson-Fawcett Head School of Geography
Dr J. Stephenson Director for Sustainability

School of Performing Arts

Professor S. Young Head School of Performing Arts

Programmes and Centres

Professor A. Ritchie Head Music
Dr S. Little Head Theatre

School of Social Sciences

Professor L. F. Smith Head School of Social Sciences

Programmes and Centres

Professor R. Walter Head Archaeology
Dr B. Nicholls Head Media, Film and Communication
Associate Professor B. Roper Head Politics
Dr J. Shaver  Head Religion
Dr G. Rawlings Head Social Anthropology
Dr E. Keddell Head Social and Community Work
Professor C. Brickell Head Sociology, Gender Studies and Criminology
Professor R. Jackson Director National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

School of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies

Professor Poia Rewi Dean Te Tumu - School of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies

^ Top of page

Division of Sciences

Name Position Section/Department/School/Division
Professor R. Barker Pro-Vice-Chancellor Division of Sciences
Associate Professor S. Wakes Head Centre of Materials Science and Technology
Associate Professor J Bering Head Centre for Science Communications
Associate Professor Orlovich Head Department of Botany
Professor K. Gordon Head Department of Chemistry
Professor M. Albert Head Department of Computer Science
Professor I. Oey Head Department of Food Science
Professor J. D. White Head Department of Geology
Associate Professor L Houghton Head Department of Human Nutrition
Professor S. Dawson Head Department of Marine Science
Professor R.E.L. Aldred Head Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Associate Professor C. Button Dean School of Physical Education, Sport & Exercise Sciences
Professor C. Rodger Head Department of Physics
Professor M. W. Colombo Head Department of Psychology
Professor C. Hulbe Dean School of Surveying
Professor G. Closs Head Department of Zoology


Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago, or their respective organisation. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.