Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Last Modified: 02 Jul 2024

Academic Division

NamePosition Section / Department / School / Division
Professor S Brock Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic

Otago Business School (Division of Commerce)

NamePosition Section / Department / School / Division
Professor M Thyne Acting Pro-Vice-Chancellor Division of Commerce
Professor J Zhang Head Department of Accountancy and Finance
Professor R Peeters Head Department of Economics
Professor F Edgar Head Department of Management
Associate Professor K Robertson Head Department of Marketing
Associate Professor Anna Carr Head Department of Tourism
Associate Professor T Garry Director Executive Programmes

Division of Health Sciences

NamePosition Section / Department / School / Division
Associate Professor M Gibbons Pro-Vice-ChancellorDivision of Health Sciences
Professor P Priest Assistant Pro-Vice-Chancellor 

Faculty of Dentistry

Professor P Cooper Dean Faculty of Dentistry
Associate Professor P Cathro Head Oral Rehabilitation
Professor A Tawse-Smith Head Oral Sciences
Professor D Tong Head Oral Diagnostic and Surgical Sciences
Professor W Duncan Director Sir John Walsh Research Institute

Otago Medical School

Professor T Wilkinson (Acting) Dean Otago Medical School

School of Biomedical Sciences

Professor L Matisoo-Smith (Acting) Dean School of Biomedical Sciences
Professor C Jasoni Head Department of Anatomy
Professor P Dearden Head Department of Biochemistry
Associate Professor J Kirman Head Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Professor I Sammut Head Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Associate Professor R Katare Head Department of Physiology

Research Infrastructure  Group

Professor S. Hook Research Infrastructure Manager Operations
Mr S W Rhodes Head Biomedical Research Facility
Dr K L Reader   Otago Micro and Nanoscale Imaging
Dr R Day   Otago Genomics Facility
Dr T Kleffman Operations Manager Centre for Protein Research

University of Otago, Christchurch

Professor S Pitama Dean University of Otago, Christchurch
Dr B Hudson Head Department of General Practice (Primary Care and Clinical Simulation)
Dr A Landers Head Department of Medicine
Dr M Patu Director Maori/Indigenous Health Innovation (MIHI)
Dr J E Gullam Head Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Professor G J Hooper Head Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Musculoskeletal Medicine
Professor T M Walls Head Department of Paediatrics
Professor M A Kennedy Head Department of Pathology and Biomedical Science
Associate Professor P Hider Head Department of Population Health
Professor R J Porter Head Department of Psychological Medicine
Professor T W Eglinton Head Department of Surgery
Dr V Jones Head Department of Nursing

Dunedin School of Medicine

Professor L C Anderson (Acting) Dean Dunedin School of Medicine
Professor L C Anderson Deputy Dean Dunedin School of Medicine
Dr M King Head Bioethics Centre
Professor T Stokes Head Department of General Practice and Rural Health
Professor R Taylor Head Department of Medicine
Professor J Horsfield Head Department of Pathology
Professor R M Turner Head Department of Preventive and Social Medicine
Associate Professor T Patterson Head Department of Psychological Medicine
Mrs J Krysa Head Department of Surgical Sciences
Professor P.B. McIntyre Head Department of Women's and Children's Health

University of Otago, Wellington

Professor W M M Levack Dean University of Otago, Wellington
Associate Professor P D Larsen Head Department of Surgery and Anaesthesia
Dr K J Chadwick Head Department of Radiation Therapy
Professor A Ranta Head Department of Medicine
Associate Professor S Filoche Head Department of Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Women's Health
Professor E Wiltshire Head Department of Paediatrics and Child Health
Associate Professor D Kenwright Head Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine
Professor L C McBain Head Department of Primary Healthcare and General Practice
Professor S Every-Palmer Head Department of Psychological Medicine
Professor L Signal, Professor J Hoek and Professor P Edwards as Co-Head Head Department of Public Health

School of Pharmacy

Professor B Russell (Acting) DeanSchool of Pharmacy

School of Physiotherapy

Professor L A Hale Dean School   of Physiotherapy

Division of Humanities

NamePosition Section / Programme / School / Division
Professor J Palmer Pro-Vice-Chancellor Division of Humanities

University of Otago College of Education

 Professor V Anderson Dean College of Education

Faculty of Law

Professor S Griffiths Dean Faculty of Law
Dr B Toy-Cronin Director Centre for Legal Issues
Associate Professor N Taylor Director Children's Issues Centre
 Professor C Gavaghan Director Emerging Technologies

School of Arts

Professor S Marshall Head School of Arts

Programmes and Centres

Professor L McIlvanney Director Centre for Irish and Scottish Studies
Dr G McIntyre Head Classics
Associate Professor D Ciccoricco Head English and Linguistics
Associate Professor F Steel Head History
Dr S W Lau Head Languages and Cultures
Associate Professor Z Weber Head Philosophy
Professor P Trebilco Head Theology
Professor D Tombs Director Centre for Theology and Public Issues

School of Geography

Associate Professor S Bond Head School of Geography
Associate Professor C Orchiston Director Centre for Sustainability

School of Performing Arts

Professor A Ritchie Head School of Performing Arts

Programmes and Centres

Professor H Johnson Head Music
Dr S Young Head Theatre

School of Social Sciences

Professor J Hayward Head School of Social Sciences

Programmes and Centres

Associate Professor T Thomas Head Archaeology
Professor C Fowler Head Media, Film and Communication
Professor P Nel Head Politics
Professor B Schonthal Head Religion
Professor R Fitzgerald Head Social Anthropology
Associate Professor S Walker and Associate Professor E Keddell as Co-Head Head Social and Community Work
Associate Professor M Dawson Head Sociology, Gender Studies and Criminology

School of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies

Professor P Vakaoti Dean Te Tumu - School of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies
Dr J Te Paa Daniel Director National Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

Division of Sciences

NamePosition Section / Department / School / Division
Professor R Barker Pro-Vice-Chancellor Division of Sciences
Professor D Orlovich Head Department of Botany
Associate Professor N Lucas Head Department of Chemistry
Associate Professor G Dick Head of School School of Computing
Professor M Mirosa Head Department of Food Science
Associate Professor A R Gorman Head Department of Geology
Research Professor N Roy Head Department of Human Nutrition
Professor M Lamare Head Department of Marine Science
Associate Professor S J Wakes Head Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Associate Professor E Hargreaves Dean School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences
Professor P B Blakie Head Department of Physics
Professor J Halberstadt Head Department of Psychology
Professor J Bering Head Department of Science Communication
Associate Professor A Moore Dean School of Surveying
 Professor M Lokman Head Department of Zoology

Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago, or their respective organisation. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.

Back to top