Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Dunedin campus

Office of the Dean

NamePhone/Email
Professor Vivienne Anderson, Dean +64 3 479 5360
vivienne.anderson@otago.ac.nz
Hamish McDonald, Academic Manager; Senior Professional Practice Fellow

+64 3 479 8823
hamish.mcdonald@otago.ac.nz

Appointment pending, Finance Associate (Humanities and Commerce)

+64 3 479 4940

Professional staff (Dunedin)

NamePhone/Email
Marlene Robertson, Lead Administrator (Client Services)
College of Education & School of Performing Arts
+64 3 479 4995
marlene.robertson@otago.ac.nz
Gwynneth Cundall, Administrator (Client Services)
Initial Teacher Education
+64 3 479 3771
gwynneth.cundall@otago.ac.nz
Joanna Couling, Curriculum Assistant +64 3 479 4297
joanna.couling@otago.ac.nz
Hana Mangai, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 4927
hana.mangai@otago.ac.nz
Alex Pearson, Curriculum Assistant +64 3 479 8806
alex.pearson@otago.ac.nz
Maria Risoli, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 4225
maria.risoli@otago.ac.nz
Carmia Schrader, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 4977
carmia.schrader@otago.ac.nz
Vanessa Whaanga, Administrator (Divisional Services and Administration)+64 21 912 167
vanessa.whaanga@otago.ac.nz
Professional Experience Administration Inquiries: 
Secondary Education secondaryadmin@otago.ac.nz
Primary Education primaryadmin@otago.ac.nz
Early Childhood Education eceadmin@otago.ac.nz

Academic staff (Dunedin)

NamePhone/Email
Dr Kim Brown, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 8816
kim.brown@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jane Carroll, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 5267
jane.carroll@otago.ac.nz
Roberta Carvalho, Senior Professional Practice Fellow - Early Childhood Education +64 3 479 3785
roberta.carvalho@otago.ac.nz
Dr Sonya Gaches, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 8949
sonya.gaches@otago.ac.nz
Dr Michael Gaffney, Lecturer, Programme Co-ordinator (Early Childhood Education) +64 3 479 4214
michael.gaffney@otago.ac.nz
Professor Alex Gunn, Professor, Coordinator (Postgraduate) +64 3 479 4261
alex.gunn@otago.ac.nz
Belinda Haig, Senior Professional Practice Fellow - Primary Education +64 3 479 4286
belinda.haig@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Naomi Ingram, Senior Lecturer, Associate Dean Initial Teacher Education +64 3 479 4284
naomi.ingram@otago.ac.nz
Iain McGilchrist, Professional Practice Fellow; Programme Coordinator (Secondary Education) +64 3 479 3774
iain.mcgilchrist@otago.ac.nz
Shannon McNatty, Senior Professional Practice Fellow – Secondary +64 3 479 4253
shannon.mcnatty@otago.ac.nz
Angela Miller, Professional Practice Fellow (Senior Lecturer) +64 3 479 4959
angela.miller@otago.ac.nz
Katie Montgomery, Catechetical Studies Coordinator; Curriculum Specialist (EARU)+64 3 471 6493
katie.montgomery@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Hugh Morrison, Associate Professor +64 3 479 4240
hugh.morrison@otago.ac.nz

Professor Karen Nairn, Professor; Associate Dean Research

+64 3 479 8619
karen.nairn@otago.ac.nz
Karina Nafatali, Senior Professional Practice Fellow - Primary and Secondary Education; Pasifika Co-ordinator +64 3 479 4217
karina.nafatali@otago.ac.nz
Dr Bilinda Offen, Lecturer +64 3 479 4226
bilinda.offen@otago.ac.nz
Dr Keryn Pratt, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 5974
keryn.pratt@otago.ac.nz
Matiu Rātima, Senior Lecturer+64 3 479 4989
matiu.ratima@otago.ac.nz
Andrea Robertson, Senior Professional Practice Fellow; Programme Coordinator (Primary Education)

+64 3 479 4951
andrea.robertson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sylvia Robertson, Senior Lecturer; Director, Centre for Educational Leadership and Administration +64 3 479 4993
sylvia.robertson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Gill Rutherford, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 3804
gill.rutherford@otago.ac.nz
Professor Susan Sandretto, Professor +64 3 479 8820
susan.sandretto@otago.ac.nz
Dr Steven Sexton, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4285
steven.sexton@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jane Tilson, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 8809
jane.tilson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Helen Trevethan, Senior Lecturer, EdD Coordinator, Programme Coordinator (MTchgLn) +64 3 479 4230
helen.trevethan@otago.ac.nz
Olivia Wheeler, Professional Practice Fellow – Primary +64 3 479 4257
olivia.weaver@otago.ac.nz
Trish Wells, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4972
trish.wells@otago.ac.nz
Lisa Yorke, Senior Professional Practice +64 3 471 6412
lisa.yorke@otago.ac.nz

Emeritus Professors

NameEmail
Emeritus Professor David Belldavid.bell@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Kwok-Wing Laiwing.lai@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Helen Mayhelen.may@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Ross Notmanross.notman@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Jeff Smithjeffrey.smith@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Lisa F. Smithlisa.smith@otago.ac.nz

UOCE/Creative New Zealand Children's Writer in Residence

NamePhone/Email
Feana Tu'akoi+64 3 479 5461
feana.tuakoi@otago.ac.nz

Centre for Educational Leadership & Administration (CELA)

NamePhone/Email
Dr Sylvia Robertson, Director; Facilitator +64 3 479 4993
sylvia.robertson@otago.ac.nz
Narda Howard, CELA Administrator +64 3 479 4900
cela@otago.ac.nz

Educational Assessment Research Unit (EARU)

NamePhone/Email
Associate Professor David Berg, Academic Lead +64 3 471 4514
david.berg@otago.ac.nz
Ruth Barton, Project Administrator +64 3 556 6070
nmssa.earu@otago.ac.nz
Linda Jenkins, Data Manager +64 3 479 8491
linda.jenkins@otago.ac.nz
James Rae, Multimedia Specialist +64 3 479 8693
james.rae@otago.ac.nz
Alison Richardson, Operations Lead +64 3 479 7503
af.richardson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jenny Ward, Project / Curriculum Lead +64 3 479 5036
jenny.ward@otago.ac.nz
Jane White, Curriculum Coordinator +64 3 479 5466
jane.white@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jill Hayhurst,  Senior Research Fellow +64 3 479 5176
 jill.hayhurst@otago.ac.nz
Dr Raymond Reichenberg, Senior Research Fellow +64 3 479 4283
ray.reichenberg@otago.ac.nz
Jack Matterson, Project Logistics and Records Officer+64 3 556 7927
jack.matterson@otago.ac.nz
Andrew Tagg, Research Fellow, Room 1.19 +64 3 471 6351
andrew.tagg@otago.ac.nz 
Kalika Kastein, Assistant Research Fellow +64 3 479 8375
kalika.kastein@otago.ac.nz
Katie Montgomery,  Curriculum Specialist , Room 1.01 +64 3 471 6493
 katie.montgomery@otago.ac.nz
Kristel De RyckProject Administrator +64 3 479 9162
 nmssa.earu@otago.ac.nz

Invercargill campus

Professional staff (Invercargill)

NamePhone/Email
Jolene Dunn, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 211 6805
jolene.dunn@otago.ac.nz
Duncan Hume, Cyclone Computers (IT support)Wed 8:30am – 10:30am, Fri 8:30am – 10:30am +64 3 211 6833

Academic staff (Invercargill)

NamePhone/Email
Meredith Kelly, Academic Programmes Coordinator +64 3 211 6809
meredith.kelly@otago.ac.nz
Alice Hildebrand, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 211 6842
alice.hildebrand@otago.ac.nz
Alli McKenzie, Teacher Education Fellow (Lecturer),
Primary Liaison
+64 3 211 6815
alli.mckenzie@otago.ac.nz
Pamela Melgren, Student Learning Support +64 3 211 6848
pamela.melgren@otago.ac.nz
Julie Milligan, Senior Professional Fellow, Primary Liaison +64 3 211 6803
julie.milligan@otago.ac.nz
Parker Ormond, Teacher Education Fellow (Senior Lecturer); Associate Dean Māori;
Kaiārahi o Te Pōkai Mātauranga o te Ao Rua
+64 3 211 6827
parker.ormond@otago.ac.nz
Lauren Wilson, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 211 6861
lauren.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Education Support Services (ESS)

NamePhone/Email
Cheryl Pym, Director+64 3 211 6832
cheryl.pym@otago.ac.nz
Narda Howard, Administrator (Client Services);
CELA Administrator
+64 3 479 4900
narda.howard@otago.ac.nz
cela@otago.ac.nz
Vanessa Whaanga, Administrator (Client Services);
Education Support Services & College of Education
021 912 167
vanessa.whaanga@otago.ac.nz
Erin Day, Reading Recovery Facilitator +64 3 479 4903
erin.day@otago.ac.nz
Denise Hitchcock, Literacy and Cultural Capability PLD Facilitator 021 912 947
denise.hitchcock@otago.ac.nz
Lauren Latimer, Primary Literacy Facilitator 021 165 7324
lauren.latimer@otago.ac.nz
Averil Lee, Primary Mathematics Facilitator +64 21 190 4065
averil.lee@otago.ac.nz
Libby Paterson, Overseas Trained Teachers (OTT) Facilitator 021 279 4931
libby.paterson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Kate Rice, Science Facilitator +64 21 793 771
kate.rice@otago.ac.nz
Derek Smith, Mathematics Facilitator 021 913 150
derek.smith@otago.ac.nz
Ann Stevenson, Primary Literacy Facilitator +64 3 479 4931
ann.stevenson@otago.ac.nz
Viv Thompson, Primary Mathematics Facilitator 021 141 6624
viv.thompson@otago.ac.nz
Stephen Williams, Science and Cultural Capability Facilitator 021 908 269
stephen.williams@otago.ac.nz
Back to top