Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

College of Education Staff

Dunedin Campus

Office of the Dean

Name Phone/Email
Associate Professor Vivienne Anderson, Dean +64 3 479 5360
vivienne.anderson@otago.ac.nz
Melissa Bell, Academic Manager; Professional Practice Fellow

+64 3 479 8823
melissa.bell@otago.ac.nz

Stephanie Tancredi, Finance Associate (Humanities and Commerce)

 +64 3 479 4940
stephanie.tancredi@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Professional Staff (Dunedin)

Name Phone/Email
Marlene Robertson, Lead Administrator (Client Services)
College of Education & School of Performing Arts
+64 3 479 4995
marlene.robertson@otago.ac.nz
Gwynneth Cundall, Administrator (Client Services)
Initial Teacher Education
+64 3 479 3771
gwynneth.cundall@otago.ac.nz
Joanna Couling, Curriculum Assistant

 3 479 4297 
joanna.couling@otago.ac.nz

Max Gillies, Administrator (Client Services); EARU/NMSSA Administrator
+64 3 479 8561
suzanne.gillies@otago.ac.nz
Hana Mangai, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 4927
hana.mangai@otago.ac.nz
Alex Pearson, Curriculum Assistant +64 3 479 8806
alex.pearson@otago.ac.nz
Louise Ross, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 4794225
louise.ross@otago.ac.nz
Carmia Schrader, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 4977
carmia.schrader@otago.ac.nz
Professional Experience Administration Inquiries:
   Secondary Education secondaryadmin@otago.ac.nz
   Primary Education primaryadmin@otago.ac.nz
   Early Childhood Education eceadmin@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Academic Staff (Dunedin)

Name Phone/Email
Professor David Bell, Professor +64 3 479 4354
david.bell@otago.ac.nz
Dr Kim Brown, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 8816
kim.brown@otago.ac.nz
Dr Margie Campbell-Price, Senior Lecturer
+64 3 479 4948
margie.campbell-price@otago.ac.nz
Roberta Carvalho, Professional Practice Fellow - Early Childhood Education +64 3 479 3785
roberta.carvalho@otago.ac.nz
Amie Curtis, Professional Practice Fellow - Early Childhood Education +64 3 479 4989
amie.curtis@otago.ac.nz
Dr Sonya Gaches, Lecturer; Programme Coordinator (Early Childhood Education) +64 3 479 8949
sonya.gaches@otago.ac.nz
Dr Michael Gaffney, Lecturer +64 3 479 4214
michael.gaffney@otago.ac.nz
Professor Alex Gunn, Professor +64 3 479 4261
alex.gunn@otago.ac.nz
Belinda Haig, Professional Practice Fellow - Primary Education +64 3 479 4286
belinda.haig@otago.ac.nz
Dr Naomi Ingram, Senior Lecturer, Associate Dean Teacher Education +64 3 479 4284
naomi.ingram@otago.ac.nz
Maria Kewene-Edwards, Professional Practice Fellow – Primary Education +64 3 479 4253
maria.kewene-edwards@otago.ac.nz
Andrea Knowles, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 4221
andrea.knowles@otago.ac.nz
Dr Rachel Martin, Senior Lecturer; Associate Dean Māori
+64 3 479 4920
rachel.s.martin@otago.ac.nz
Iain McGilchrist, Professional Practice Fellow; Programme Coordinator (Secondary Education) +64 3 479 3774
iain.mcgilchrist@otago.ac.nz
Shannon McNatty, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 4263
shannon.mcnatty@otago.ac.nz
Angela Miller, Professional Practice Fellow (Senior Lecturer) - on leave
+64 3 479 4959
angela.miller@otago.ac.nz
Catherine Morrison, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4932
catherine.morrison@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Hugh Morrison, Associate Professor; Coordinator (Postgraduate)

+64 3 479 4240
hugh.morrison@otago.ac.nz
Sayedali Mostolizadeh, Assistant Research Fellow

+64 3 479 8816
sayedali.mostolizadeh@otago.ac.nz

Professor Karen Nairn, Professor; Associate Dean Research

+64 3 479 8619
karen.nairn@otago.ac.nz
Karina Nafatali, Professional Practice Fellow - Primary and Secondary Education; Pasifika Co-ordinator
+64 3 479 4217
karina.nafatali@otago.ac.nz
Dr Bilinda Offen, Lecturer +64 3 479 4226
bilinda.offen@otago.ac.nz
Alejandra Ortiz-Ayala, Assistant Research Fellow alejandra.ortiz.ayala@postgrad.otago.ac.nz
Dr Keryn Pratt, Senior Lecturer; Director, Centre for Distance Education and Learning Technologies; EdD Coordinator
+64 3 479 5974
keryn.pratt@otago.ac.nz
Dr Kate Rice, Professional Practice Fellow; Facilitator (Education Support Services)
+64 3 479 4992
kate.rice@otago.ac.nz
Andrea Robertson, Professional Practice Fellow; Programme Coordinator (Primary Education)

+64 479 4951
andrea.robertson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sylvia Robertson, Lecturer; Director, Centre for Educational Leadership and Administration +64 3 479 4993
sylvia.robertson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Gill Rutherford, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 3804
gill.rutherford@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Susan Sandretto, Associate Professor +64 3 479 8820
susan.sandretto@otago.ac.nz
Dr Steven Sexton, Senior Lecturer
+64 3 479 4285
steven.sexton@otago.ac.nz
Professor Jeff Smith, Professor +64 3 479 5467
jeffrey.smith@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jane Tilson, Lecturer
+64 3 479 8809
jane.tilson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Helen Trevethan, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4230
helen.trevethan@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Jacques van der Meer, Associate Professor  +64 3 479 4288
jacques.vandermeer@otago.ac.nz
Olivia Weaver, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 4257
olivia.weaver@otago.ac.nz
Trish Wells, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4972
trish.wells@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Emeritus Professors

Name Email
Emeritus Professor David Bell david.bell@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Kwok-Wing Lai wing.lai@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Helen May helen.may@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Ross Notman ross.notman@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Lisa F. Smith lisa.smith@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

 UOCE/Creative New Zealand Children's Writer in Residence

Name Phone/Email
Swapna Haddow
+64 3 479 5461
swapna.haddow@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Centre for Distance Education & Learning Technologies (CDELT)

Name Phone/Email
Dr Keryn Pratt, Director
+64 3 479 5974
keryn.pratt@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Centre for Educational Leadership & Administration (CELA)

Name Phone/Email
Dr Sylvia Robertson, Director; Facilitator +64 3 479 4993
sylvia.robertson@otago.ac.nz
Narda Howard, CELA Administrator +64 3 479 4900
cela@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Educational Assessment Research Unit (EARU)

Name Phone/Email
Associate Professor David Berg, Co-Director (EARU) +64 3 471 4514
david.berg@otago.ac.nz
Sharon Young, Co-Director (EARU) +64 3 479 5176
sharon.young@otago.ac.nz
Max Gillies, EARU/NMSSA Administrator +64 3 479 8561
nmssa.earu@otago.ac.nz
Mustafa Asil, Psychometrician; Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4283
mustafa.asil@otago.ac.nz
Lee Baker, Materials Coordinator +64 3 479 8375
lee.baker@otago.ac.nz
Doris Lancaster, Curriculum Specialist +64 3 479 4514
doris.lancaster@otago.ac.nz
Linda Jenkins, Data Manager +64 3 479 8491
linda.jenkins@otago.ac.nz
Lynette Jones, Operations Manager/Production Editor +64 3 479 7503
lynette.jones@otago.ac.nz
James Rae, Multimedia Specialist +64 3 479 8693
james.rae@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jenny Ward, Senior Research Fellow +64 3 479 5036
jenny.ward@otago.ac.nz
Jane White, Professional Practice Fellow
+64 3 479 5466
jane.white@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Invercargill Campus

Professional Staff (Invercargill)

Name Phone/Email
Jolene Dunn, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 211 6805
jolene.dunn@otago.ac.nz
Duncan Hume, Cyclone Computers (IT support)
Wed 8:30am – 10:30am, Fri 8:30am – 10:30am
+64 3 211 6833

Academic Staff (Invercargill)

Name Phone/Email
Meredith Kelly, Academic Programmes Coordinator +64 3 211 6809
meredith.kelly@otago.ac.nz
Alice Hildebrand, Professional Practice Fellow
+64 3 211 6842
alice.hildebrand@otago.ac.nz
Alli McKenzie, Teacher Education Fellow (Lecturer),
Primary Liaison
+64 3 211 6815
alli.mckenzie@otago.ac.nz
Pamela Melgren, Student Learning Support  +64 3 211 6848
pamela.melgren@otago.ac.nz
Julie Mynes, Lecturer, Primary Liaison +64 3 211 6803
julie.mynes@otago.ac.nz
Mary O'Rourke, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 211 6821
mary.orourke@otago.ac.nz
Parker Ormond, Teacher Education Fellow (Senior Lecturer);
Kaiārahi o Te Pōkai Mātauranga o te Ao Rua
+64 3 211 6827
parker.ormond@otago.ac.nz
Lauren Wilson, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 211 6861
lauren.wilson@otago.ac.nz

Invercargill Campus Library

Name Phone/Email
Cheryl Robertson, Library Assistant +64 3 211 6818
cheryl.robertson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Education Support Services (ESS)

Name Phone/Email
Hamish McDonald, Director +64 3 479 4907
h.mcdonald@otago.ac.nz
Narda Howard, Administrator (Client Services);
CELA Administrator
+64 3 479 4900
narda.howard@otago.ac.nz
cela@otago.ac.nz
Vanessa Whaanga, Administrator (Client Services);
Education Support Services & College of Education
021 912 167
vanessa.whaanga@otago.ac.nz
Kiritea Smith, Communications Coordinator +64 3 479 4202
kiritea.smith@otago.ac.nz
Erin Day, Reading Recovery Facilitator +64 3 479 4903
erin.day@otago.ac.nz
Grant Godby, Reading Recovery Facilitator +64 3 216 4912
grant.godby@otago.ac.nz
Adie Graham, English Medium PCT Facilitator 021 279 1754
adie.graham@otago.ac.nz
Denise Hitchcock, Literacy and Cultural Capability PLD Facilitator 021 912 947
denise.hitchcock@otago.ac.nz
Tom Hobb, Primary Mathematics Facilitator 021 279 1634
tom.hobbs@otago.ac.nz
Sandra Joseph, English Medium PCT Facilitator 021 903 947
sandra.joseph@otago.ac.nz
Lauren Latimer, Primary Literacy Facilitator 021 279 0989
lauren.latimer@otago.ac.nz
Averil Lee, Primary Mathematics Facilitator +64 3 211 6837
averil.lee@otago.ac.nz
Sione Niupalau, Pia, Pou Tautoko and Cultural Capability PLD Facilitator 021 417 253
sione.niupalau@otago.ac.nz
Libby Paterson, Overseas Trained Teachers (OTT) Facilitator 021 279 4931
libby.paterson@otago.ac.nz
Mereana Pawa, Pia, Pou Tautoko and Cultural Capability PLD Facilitator 021 279 1227
mereana.pawa@otago.ac.nz
Marama Pohatu, Pia, Pou Tautoko and Cultural Capability PLD Facilitator 021 833 560
marama.pohatu@otago.ac.nz
Cheryl Pym, Technology and Cultural Capability Facilitator +64 3 211 6832
cheryl.pym@otago.ac.nz
Dr Kate Rice, Science Facilitator +64 3 479 4992
kate.rice@otago.ac.nz
Derek Smith, Mathematics Facilitator 021 913 150
derek.smith@otago.ac.nz
Ann Stevenson, Primary Literacy Facilitator +64 3 479 4931
ann.stevenson@otago.ac.nz
Viv Thompson, Primary Mathematics Facilitator 021 141 6624
viv.thompson@otago.ac.nz
Joan Turner, English Medium PCT/Mentor Coordinator +64 3 479 4950
joan.turner@otago.ac.nz
Flayme Wharerau, SELO Facilitator 021 689 172
flayme.wharerau@otago.ac.nz
Latecia Williams, English Medium PCT Facilitator
021 157 1299
latecia.williams@otago.ac.nz
Stephen Williams, Science and Cultural Capability Facilitator 021 908 269
stephen.williams@otago.ac.nz