Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

College of Education Staff

Dunedin Campus

Office of the Dean

Name Phone/Email
Professor Jeff Smith, Dean +64 3 479 5467
jeffrey.smith@otago.ac.nz
Melissa Bell, Academic Manager, Professional Practice Fellow

+64 3 479 8823
melissa.bell@otago.ac.nz

Stephanie Tancredi, Finance Associate (Humanities and Commerce)

 +64 3 479 4940
stephanie.tancredi@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Professional Staff (Dunedin)

Name Phone/Email
Marlene Robertson, Lead Administrator (Client Services)
College of Education & School of Performing Arts
+64 3 479 4995
marlene.robertson@otago.ac.nz
Gwynneth Cundall, Administrator (Client Services)
Initial Teacher Education
+64 3 479 3771
gwynneth.cundall@otago.ac.nz
Joanna Couling, Curriculum Assistant

 3 479 4297 
joanna.couling@otago.ac.nz

Max Gillies, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 8561
suzanne.gillies@otago.ac.nz
Hana Mangai, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 4927
hana.mangai@otago.ac.nz
Alex Pearson, Curriculum Assistant +64 3 479 4297
alex.pearson@otago.ac.nz
Louise Ross, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 4794225
louise.ross@otago.ac.nz
Carmia Schrader, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 4977
carmia.schrader@otago.ac.nz
Practicum Administration Inquiries:
   Secondary Education secondarypracadmin@otago.ac.nz
   Primary Education primarypracadmin@otago.ac.nz
   Early Childhood Education ecepracadmin@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Academic Staff (Dunedin)

Name Phone/Email
Associate Professor Vivienne Anderson, Associate Dean +64 3 479 5360
vivienne.anderson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Kim Brown, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 8816
kim.brown@otago.ac.nz
Dr Margie Campbell-Price, Senior Lecturer
+64 3 479 4948
margie.campbell-price@otago.ac.nz
Ali Carroll, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 9763
ali.carroll@otago.ac.nz
Amie Curtis, Professional Practice Fellow - Early Childhood Education +64 3 479 4989
amie.curtis@otago.ac.nz
Dr Sonya Gaches, Lecturer, Programme Coordinator (Early Childhood Education) +64 3 479 8949
sonya.gaches@otago.ac.nz
Dr Michael Gaffney, Lecturer +64 3 479 4214
michael.gaffney@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Alex Gunn, Associate Professor +64 3 479 4261
alex.gunn@otago.ac.nz
Belinda Haig, Professional Practice Fellow - Primary Education +64 3 479 4286
belinda.haig@otago.ac.nz
Dr Naomi Ingram, Senior Lecturer, Head of Teacher Education +64 3 479 4284
naomi.ingram@otago.ac.nz
Maria Kewene-Edwards, Professional Practice Fellow – Primary Education +64 3 479 4253
maria.kewene-edwards@otago.ac.nz
Andrea Knowles, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 4221
andrea.knowles@otago.ac.nz
Dr Rachel Martin, Senior Lecturer, Coordinator (Māori/Kaiwhakahaere)
+64 3 479 4920
rachel.s.martin@otago.ac.nz
Kate McAnelly, Professional Practice Fellow – Early Childhood Education +64 3 479 3785
kate.mcanelly@otago.ac.nz
Iain McGilchrist, Professional Practice Fellow, Programme Coordinator (Secondary Education) +64 3 479 3774
iain.mcgilchrist@otago.ac.nz
Angela Miller, Professional Practice Fellow (Senior Lecturer), Programme Coordinator (Primary Education)
+64 3 479 4959
angela.miller@otago.ac.nz
Catherine Morrison, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4932
catherine.morrison@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Hugh Morrison, Associate Professor, Coordinator (Postgraduate)

+64 3 479 4240
hugh.morrison@otago.ac.nz
Sayedali Mostolizadeh, Assistant Research Fellow sayedali.mostolizadeh@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Karen Nairn, Associate Professor, Research Coordinator

+64 3 479 8619
karen.nairn@otago.ac.nz
Karina Nafatali, Professional Practice Fellow - Primary and Secondary Education, Coordinator (Pasifika) +64 3 479 4217
karina.nafatali@otago.ac.nz
Dr Bilinda Offen, Lecturer +64 3 479 4226
bilinda.offen@otago.ac.nz
Dr Keryn Pratt, Senior Lecturer, Director, Centre for Distance Education and Learning Technologies, EdD Coordinator
+64 3 479 5974
keryn.pratt@otago.ac.nz
Dr Kate Rice, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 4992
kate.rice@otago.ac.nz
Andrea Robertson, Professional Practice Fellow

+64 479 4951
andrea.robertson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sylvia Robertson, Lecturer, Director, Centre for Educational Leadership and Administration +64 3 479 4993
sylvia.robertson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Gill Rutherford, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 3804
gill.rutherford@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Susan Sandretto, Associate Professor +64 3 479 8820
susan.sandretto@otago.ac.nz
Dr Steven Sexton, Senior Lecturer
+64 3 479 4285
steven.sexton@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jane Tilson, Lecturer
+64 3 479 8809
jane.tilson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Helen Trevethan, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4230
helen.trevethan@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Jacques van der Meer, Associate Professor  +64 3 479 4288
jacques.vandermeer@otago.ac.nz
Trish Wells, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4972
trish.wells@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Emeritus Professors

Name Email
Emeritus Professor David Bell david.bell@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Kwok-Wing Lai wing.lai@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Helen May helen.may@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Ross Notman ross.notman@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Lisa Smith lisa.smith@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

 UOCE/Creative New Zealand Children's Writer in Residence

Name Phone/Email
Heather McQuillan
+64 3 479 5461

^ Top of page

Centre for Distance Education & Learning Technologies (CDELT)

Name Phone/Email
Dr Keryn Pratt, Senior Lecturer  +64 3 479 5974
keryn.pratt@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Centre for Educational Leadership & Administration (CELA)

Name Phone/Email
Dr Sylvia Robertson, Director, Facilitator +64 3 479 4993
sylvia.robertson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Educational Assessment Research Unit (EARU)

Name Phone/Email
Dr David Berg, Director (EARU) +64 3 471 4514
david.berg@otago.ac.nz
Sharon Young, Co-Director (EARU) +64 3 479 5176
sharon.young@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jenny Ward, Senior Research Fellow +64 3 479 5036
jenny.ward@otago.ac.nz
Jane White, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 5466
jane.white@otago.ac.nz
Lynette Jones, Operations Manager/Production Editor
+64 3 479 7503
lynette.jones@otago.ac.nz
Doris Lancaster, Curriculum Specialist +64 3 479 4514
doris.lancaster@otago.ac.nz
Linda Jenkins, Data Manager +64 3 479 8491
linda.jenkins@otago.ac.nz
James Rae, Multimedia Specialist +64 3 479 8693
james.rae@otago.ac.nz
Lee Baker, Materials Coordinator
+64 3 479 8375
lee.baker@otago.ac.nz
Max Gillies, EARU/NMSSA Administrator +64 3 479 8561
nmssa.earu@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Invercargill Campus

Professional Staff (Invercargill)

Name Phone/Email
Jolene Dunn, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 211 6805
jolene.dunn@otago.ac.nz
Marni Stone, Senior Technician (Invercargill Campus) +64 3 211 6833
marni.stone@otago.ac.nz

Academic Staff (Invercargill)

Name Phone/Email
Meredith Kelly, Academic Programmes Coordinator +64 3 211 6809
meredith.kelly@otago.ac.nz
Alice Hildebrand, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 211 6842
alice.hildebrand@otago.ac.nz
Alli McKenzie, Teacher Education Fellow (Lecturer),
Primary Liaison
+64 3 211 6815
alli.mckenzie@otago.ac.nz
Pamela Melgren, Student Learning Support  +64 3 211 6848
pamela.melgren@otago.ac.nz
Julie Mynes, Lecturer, Primary Liaison +64 3 211 6803
julie.mynes@otago.ac.nz
Mary O'Rourke, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 211 6821
mary.orourke@otago.ac.nz
Parker Ormond, Teacher Education Fellow (Senior Lecturer),
Kaiārahi o Te Pōkai Mātauranga o te Ao Rua
+64 3 211 6827
parker.ormond@otago.ac.nz

Invercargill Campus Library

Name Phone/Email
Cheryl Robertson, Library Assistant +64 3 211 6818
cheryl.robertson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Education Support Services (ESS)

Dunedin

Name Phone/Email
Davina Hunt, Director +64 3 479 4907
davina.hunt@otago.ac.nz
Narda Howard, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 4900
narda.howard@otago.ac.nz
Vanessa Whaanga, Administrator (Client Services)
021 912 167
vanessa.whaanga@otago.ac.nz
Michelle Garforth, Facilitator 027 425 7439
m.garforth@otago.ac.nz
Adie Graham, Facilitator 021 279 1754
adie.graham@otago.ac.nz
Denise Hitchcock, Facilitator 021 912 947
denise.hitchcock@otago.ac.nz
Sandra Joseph, Facilitator 021 903 947
sandra.joseph@otago.ac.nz
Lauren Latimer, Facilitator 021 279 0989
lauren.latimer@otago.ac.nz
Robyn McNeill, Facilitator 021 279 0989
robyn.mcneill@otago.ac.nz
Sione Niupalau, Pia, Pou Tautoko and Cultural Capability Curriculum and Learning PLD Facilitator 021 417 253
sione.niupalau@otago.ac.nz
Libby Paterson, Facilitator 021 279 4931
libby.paterson@otago.ac.nz
Mereana Pawa, Pia, Pou Tautoko and Cultural Capability Curriculum and Learning PLD Facilitator 021 279 1227
mereana.pawa@otago.ac.nz
Marama Pohatu, Facilitator 021 833 560
marama.pohatu@otago.ac.nz
Dr Kate Rice, Facilitator +64 3 479 4992
kate.rice@otago.ac.nz
Henrica Schieving, Facilitator 021 067 0165
henrica.schieving@otago.ac.nz
Derek Smith, Facilitator 021 913 150
derek.smith@otago.ac.nz
Viv Thompson, Facilitator 021 141 6624
viv.thompson@otago.ac.nz
Sue Todd, Reading Recovery Facilitator 021 901 270
s.todd@otago.ac.nz
Joan Turner, Facilitator +64 3 479 4950
joan.turner@otago.ac.nz
Stephen Williams, Facilitator 021 908 269
stephen.williams@otago.ac.nz
Scott Wolfe, Facilitator 021 225 3150
scott.wolfe@otago.ac.nz

Invercargill

Name Phone/Email
Grant Godby, Reading Recovery Facilitator +64 3 216 4912
grant.godby@otago.ac.nz
Averil Lee, Facilitator +64 3 211 6837
averil.lee@otago.ac.nz
Metiria Light, SELO Facilitator 021 689 172
metiria.light@otago.ac.nz
Cheryl Pym, Facilitator +64 3 211 6832
cheryl.pym@otago.ac.nz