Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

College of Education Staff

Dunedin Campus

Office of the Dean

Name Phone/Email
Professor Jeff Smith, Dean +64 3 479 5467
jeffrey.smith@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Alex Gunn, Associate Dean (Teacher Education) +64 3 479 4261
alex.gunn@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Susan Sandretto, Head of Academic Development
+64 3 479 8820
susan.sandretto@otago.ac.nz
Anna Gordon, Finance Associate (Humanities and Commerce)

 +64 3 4794940
anna.gordon@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of Page

Professional Staff (Dunedin)

Name Phone/Email
Marlene Robertson, Lead Administrator (Client Services)
College of Education; and
School of Performing Arts
+64 3 479 4995
marlene.robertson@otago.ac.nz
Pamela Brown, Curriculum Assistant (Art) +64 3 479 4247
pamela.brown@otago.ac.nz
Gwynneth Cundall, Administrator (Client Services)
Initial Teacher Education
+64 3 479 3771
gwynneth.cundall@otago.ac.nz
Joanna Couling, Library Curriculum Assistant

64 3 479 4297 
joanna.couling@otago.ac.nz

Jennie Galletly, Administrator (Client Services)
+64 3 479 4977
jennie.galletly@otago.ac.nz
Hana Mangai, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 4927
hana.mangai@otago.ac.nz
Sally Warlow, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 4794225
sally.warlow@otago.ac.nz
Practicum Administration Inquiries:
   Secondary Education secondarypracadmin@otago.ac.nz
   Primary Education primarypracadmin@otago.ac.nz
   Early Childhood Education ecepracadmin@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Academic Staff (Dunedin)

Name Phone/Email
Professor David Bell, Professor
+64 3 479 3774
david.bell@otago.ac.nz
Dr Kim Brown, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 8816
kim.brown@otago.ac.nz
Yvonne Brouwer, Teacher Education Fellow (Senior Lecturer) +64 3 479 4257
yvonne.brouwer@otago.ac.nz
Dr Margie Campbell-Price, Senior Lecturer
+64 3 479 4948
margie.campbell-price@otago.ac.nz
Ali Carroll, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 9763
ali.carroll@otago.ac.nz
Dr Beverley Clark, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4259
beverley.clark@otago.ac.nz
Renae Edwards, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 4989
renae.edwards@otago.ac.nz
Dr Sonya Gaches, Lecturer, Programme Coordinator (Early Childhood Education) +64 3 479 8949
sonya.gaches@otago.ac.nz
Dr Michael Gaffney, Lecturer +64 3 479 4214
michael.gaffney@otago.ac.nz
Dr Naomi Ingram, Senior Lecturer, Programme Coordinator (Secondary) +64 3 479 4284
naomi.ingram@otago.ac.nz
Andrea Knowles, Professional Practice fellow +64 3 479 4221
andrea.knowles@otago.ac.nz
Dr Chris Linsell, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4253
chris.linsell@otago.ac.nz
Dr Rachel Martin, Senior Lecturer, Māori Studies +64 3 479 4920
rachel.s.martin@otago.ac.nz
Angela Miller, Teacher Education Fellow (Senior Lecturer) +64 3 479 4959
angela.miller@otago.ac.nz
Catherine Morrison, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4932
catherine.morrison@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Hugh Morrison, Associate Professor, Postgraduate Coordinator (Education)

+64 3 479 4240
hugh.morrison@otago.ac.nz

Associate Professor Karen Nairn, Associate Professor, Research Coordinator

+64 3 479 8619
karen.nairn@otago.ac.nz
Dr Bilinda Offen, Lecturer +64 3 479 4226
bilinda.offen@otago.ac.nz
Dr Keryn Pratt, Director, Centre for Distance Education and Learning Technologies, EdD Coordinator, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 5974
keryn.pratt@otago.ac.nz
Kate Rice, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 4992
kate.rice@otago.ac.nz
Andrea Robertson, Professional Practice Fellow

+64 479 4951
andrea.robertson@otago.ac.nz

Dr Sylvia Robertson, Director, Centre for Educational Leadership and Administration, Lecturer +64 3 479 4993
sylvia.robertson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Gill Rutherford, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 3804
gill.rutherford@otago.ac.nz
Dr Steven Sexton, Senior Lecturer, Programme Coordinator (Primary) 64 3 479 4285
steven.sexton@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jane Tilson, Lecturer
+64 3 479 8809
jane.tilson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Helen Trevethan, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4230
helen.trevethan@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Jacques van der Meer, Associate Professor  +64 3 479 4288
jacques.vandermeer@otago.ac.nz
Trish Wells, Senior Lecturer +64 3 479 4972
trish.wells@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Emeritus Professors

Name Email
Emeritus Professor Kwok-Wing Lai wing.lai@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Helen May helen.may@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Ross Notman ross.notman@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Children's Writer in Residence

Name Phone/Email
Elena de Roo
+64 3 479 5461
elenajderoo@gmail.com

^ Top of page

Centre for Distance Education & Learning Technologies (CDELT)

Name Phone/Email
Dr Keryn Pratt, Senior Lecturer  +64 3 479 5974
keryn.pratt@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Centre for Educational Leadership & Administration (CELA)

Name Phone/Email
Dr Sylvia Robertson, Director, Facilitator +64 3 479 4993
sylvia.robertson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Educational Assessment Research Unit (EARU)

Name Phone/Email
Dr David Berg, Academic Leader (EARU) +64 3 479 8808
david.berg@otago.ac.nz
Sharon Young, Director (EARU), Leader NMSSA (Programmes) +64 3 479 5176
sharon.young@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Alison Gilmore, Research Analyst (EARU) +64 3 479 5036
alison.gilmore@otago.ac.nz
Jane White, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 479 5466
jane.white@otago.ac.nz
Doris Lancaster, NMSSA Task Developer  +64 3 479 8521
doris.lancaster@otago.ac.nz
Lynette Jones, Operations Manager/Production Editor
+64 3 479 7503
lynette.jones@otago.ac.nz
Fiona Rae, EARU/NMSSA Administrator +64 3 479 8561 or 0800 808 561
earu@otago.ac.nz
Linda Jenkins, Project Support Officer +64 3 479 8491
linda.jenkins@otago.ac.nz
James Rae, Multimedia Producer +64 3 479 8693
james.rae@otago.ac.nz
Lee Baker, Assessment Materials Coordinator
+64 3 479 8375
lee.baker@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Southland Campus

Professional Staff (Southland)

Name Phone/Email
Jolene Dunn, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 211 6805
jolene.dunn@otago.ac.nz
Marni Stone, Senior Technician (Southland Campus) +64 3 211 6833
marni.stone@otago.ac.nz

Academic Staff (Southland)

Name Phone/Email
Meredith Kelly, Academic Programmes Coordinator +64 3 211 6809
meredith.kelly@otago.ac.nz
Alice Hildebrand, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 211 6842
alice.hildebrand@otago.ac.nz
Raiha Johnson, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 211 6847
raiha.johnson@otago.ac.nz
Alli McKenzie, Teacher Education Fellow (Lecturer) +64 3 211 6815
alli.mckenzie@otago.ac.nz
Pamela Melgren, Student Learning Support  +64 3 211 6848
pamela.melgren@otago.ac.nz
Julie Mynes, Lecturer +64 3 211 6803
julie.mynes@otago.ac.nz
Mary O'Rourke, Professional Practice Fellow +64 3 211 6821
mary.orourke@otago.ac.nz
Parker Ormond, Teacher Education Fellow (Senior Lecturer),
Kaiārahi o Te Pōkai Mātauranga o te Ao Rua
+64 3 211 6827
parker.ormond@otago.ac.nz

Southland Campus Library

Name Phone/Email
Cheryl Robertson, Library Assistant +64 3 211 6818
cheryl.robertson@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Education Support Services (ESS)

Dunedin

Name Phone/Email
Ian Stevens, Director +64 3 479 4907
ian.stevens@otago.ac.nz
Narda Howard, Administrator (Client Services) +64 3 479 4915
narda.howard@otago.ac.nz
Vanessa Whaanga, Administrator (Client Services), ESS and College of Education
021 912 167
vanessa.whaanga@otago.ac.nz
Adie Graham, Facilitator 021 279 1754
adie.graham@otago.ac.nz
Kim Bonnington, Facilitator 021 417 253
kim.bonnington@otago.ac.nz
Denise Hitchcock, Facilitator 021 912 947
denise.hitchcock@otago.ac.nz
Kelly-Aroha Huata, Facilitator 021 225 3150
kelly-aroha.huata@otago.ac.nz
Sandra Joseph, Facilitator 021 903 947
sandra.joseph@otago.ac.nz
Lauren Latimer, Facilitator 021 279 0989
lauren.latimer@otago.ac.nz
Shona McRae, Facilitator +64 3 479 4931
shona.mcrae@otago.ac.nz
Libby Paterson, Facilitator 021 279 4931
libby.paterson@otago.ac.nz
Marama Pohatu, Facilitator 021 833 560
marama.pohatu@otago.ac.nz
Rawinia Paringatai, Facilitator 027 4244 341
rawinia.paringatai@otago.ac.nz
Kate Rice, Facilitator +64 3 479 4992
kate.rice@otago.ac.nz
Derek Smith, Facilitator 021 913 150
derek.smith@otago.ac.nz
Mal Thompson, Facilitator

021 249 4203
mal.thompson@otago.ac.nz

Viv Thompson, Facilitator 021 141 6624
viv.thompson@otago.ac.nz
Sue Todd, Reading Recovery Facilitator 021 901 270
s.todd@otago.ac.nz
Janice Tofia, Facilitator +64 3 479 4234
janice.tofia@otago.ac.nz
Joan Turner, Facilitator +64 3 479 4950
joan.turner@otago.ac.nz
Stephen Williams, Facilitator 021 908 269
stephen.williams@otago.ac.nz

Southland

Name Phone/Email
Grant Godby, Reading Recovery Facilitator +64 3 216 4912
grant.godby@otago.ac.nz
Averil Lee, Facilitator +64 3 211 6837
averil.lee@otago.ac.nz
Cheryl Pym, Facilitator +64 3 211 6832
cheryl.pym@otago.ac.nz
Vicki Collett, Facilitator 021 689 172
vicki.collett@otago.ac.nz