Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Surgical Sciences

Clocktower.
 

Dunedin Hospital, Dunedin School of Medicine, Health Sciences

^ Top of page

Surgery | Dunedin Hospital

Website
http://www.otago.ac.nz/dsm/surgery
Email Addresssurgery@otago.ac.nz
FaxDDI: +64 3 470 9677
Dunedin: 3359677
Dunedin Hospital: 59677

Associate Professor Mark Thompson-Fawcett Head of DepartmentDDI: +64 3 470 9854
Dunedin: 3359854
Dunedin Hospital: 59854
mark.thompsonfawcett@otago.ac.nz
Pauline Ellwood Departmental AdministratorDDI: +64 3 470 9853
Dunedin: 3359853
Dunedin Hospital: 59853
pauline.ellwood@otago.ac.nz
Glenys Taylor Financial AdministratorDDI: +64 3 470 9568
Dunedin: 3359568
Dunedin Hospital: 59568
glenys.taylor@otago.ac.nz

Otago Clinical Audit & Outcomes Research Unit

Email Addressclinical.audit@otago.ac.nz

Tracy de Woeps Clinical Audit AdministratorDDI: +64 3 470 9850
Dunedin: 3359850
Dunedin Hospital: 59850
tracy.dewoeps@otago.ac.nz

Technical/Research Staff

Associate Professor Greg Jones Associate Professor Vascular Research GroupDDI: +64 3 470 9543
Dunedin Hospital: 59543
greg.jones@otago.ac.nz
Vicky Phillips Laboratory ManagerDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58844
Dunedin: 3358844
Dunedin Hospital: 58844
vicky.phillips@otago.ac.nz
Rebecca Roberts Senior Research FellowDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58847
Dunedin: 3358847
Dunedin Hospital: 58847
rebecca.roberts@otago.ac.nz
Mary Wallace Assistant Research FellowDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58847
Dunedin: 3358847
Dunedin Hospital: 58847
mary.wallace@otago.ac.nz
Jasper Diong Assistant Research FellowDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58852
Dunedin: 3358852
Dunedin Hospital: 58852
jasper.diong@otago.ac.nz
Sook Ling Leong Assistant Research Fellowsookling.leong@otago.ac.nz
Soo Lee Research Nurse (Vascular)DDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58836
Dunedin: 3358836
Dunedin Hospital: 58836
soo.lee@otago.ac.nz
Fran Munro Research AssistantDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58847
Dunedin: 3358847
Dunedin Hospital: 58847
fran.munro@otago.ac.nz
Lesley Reeves Research AssistantDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58847
Dunedin: 3358847
Dunedin Hospital: 58847
lesley.reeves@otago.ac.nz

Vascular Assessment Unit

Gerry Hill Clinical ManagerDDI: +64 3 470 9852, +64 3 474 0999 extn 58845
Dunedin: 3359852, 3358845
Dunedin Hospital: 59852, 58845
gerry.hill@otago.ac.nz
Maria Jenkins Administrative AssistantDDI: +64 3 470 9852
Dunedin: 3359852
Dunedin Hospital: 59852
maria.jenkins@otago.ac.nz
Darshna Govind Vascular TechnologistDDI: +64 3 470 9852
Dunedin: 3359852
Dunedin Hospital: 59852
darshna.govind@otago.ac.nz
Paul Cessford Vascular TechnologistDDI: +64 3 470 9852
Dunedin: 3359852
Dunedin Hospital: 59852
paul.cessford@otago.ac.nz
Judy Norrish Vascular TechnologistDDI: +64 3 470 9852
Dunedin: 3359852
Dunedin Hospital: 59852
judy.norrish@otago.ac.nz
Kate Thomas Vascular TechnologistDDI: +64 3 470 9852
Dunedin: 3359852
Dunedin Hospital: 59852
kate.thomas@otago.ac.nz
Matthew Versteeg Vascular TechnologistDDI: +64 3 470 9852
Dunedin: 3359852
Dunedin Hospital: 59852
matthew.versteeg@otago.ac.nz

General Surgery

Website
http://www.otago.ac.nz/dsm-surgery/sections/general-surgery

Clinical Office and Enquiries (Non-University)

Joanne Bunting Clincial Secretary - van Rij/Thomson/KrysaDDI: +64 3 470 9752
Dunedin: 3359752
Dunedin Hospital: 59752
joanne.bunting@southerndhb.govt.nz
Shae Schaumkel Clinical Secretary - Millar/Hunter/McCall/Woodfield/LeemanDDI: +64 3 470 9728
Dunedin: 3359728
Dunedin Hospital: 59728
shae.schaumkel@southerndhb.govt.nz
Ellon Sparrow Clinical Secretary – Landmann/Lyall/McMillan/AyersDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58833
Dunedin: 3358833
Dunedin Hospital: 58833
ellon.sparrow@southerndhb.govt.nz
Rae Whalley Clinical Secretary – Elliot/Audeau/Thompson-Fawcett/Potter/PetrichDDI: +64 3 470 9729
Dunedin: 3359729
Dunedin Hospital: 59729
rae.whalley@southerndhb.govt.nz

Mr Andrew AudeauDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58837
Dunedin: 3358837
Dunedin Hospital: 58837
andrew.audeau@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Thomas ElliottDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58841
Dunedin: 3358841
Dunedin Hospital: 58841
tom.elliott@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Michael HunterDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58839
Dunedin: 3358839
Dunedin Hospital: 58839
mike.hunter@otago.ac.nz
Mr Michael LandmannDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58837
Dunedin: 3358837
Dunedin Hospital: 58837
landmann.michael.old@otago.ac.nz
Mr Matthew LeemanDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58842
Dunedin: 3358842
Dunedin Hospital: 58842
matthew.leeman@otago.ac.nz
Professor John McCallDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 57344
Dunedin: 3357344
Dunedin Hospital: 57344
john.mccall@otago.ac.nz
Mr Graeme MillarDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 57943
Dunedin: 3357943
Dunedin Hospital: 57943
graeme.millar@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Steven PackerDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58838
Dunedin: 3358838
Dunedin Hospital: 58838
stephen.packer@otago.ac.nz
Dr Simone PetrichDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58734
Dunedin: 3358734
Dunedin Hospital: 58734
simone.petrich@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Jon PotterDDI: +64 3 470 9895
Dunedin: 3359895
Dunedin Hospital: 59895
jonathan.potter@southerndhb.govt.nz
Associate Professor Mark Thompson-FawcettDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58843
Dunedin: 3358843
Dunedin Hospital: 58843
mark.thompsonfawcett@otago.ac.nz
Mr John WoodfieldDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58830
Dunedin: 3358830
Dunedin Hospital: 58830
john.woodfield@otago.ac.nz
RegistrarsDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58920
Dunedin: 3358920
Dunedin Hospital: 58920

Vascular Surgery

Website
http://www.otago.ac.nz/dsm-surgery/sections/vascular

Professor Andre van RijDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58834
Dunedin: 3358834
Dunedin Hospital: 58834
andre.vanrij@otago.ac.nz
Mr Ian ThomsonDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58854
Dunedin: 3358854
Dunedin Hospital: 58854
ian.thomson@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mrs Jo KrysaDDI: +64 3 470 9827
Dunedin: 3359827
Dunedin Hospital: 59827
jo.krysa@southerndhb.govt.nz

Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Website
http://otago.ac.nz/dsm-surgery/sections/plastic-reconstructive

Dr Rebecca AyersDDI: +64 3 470 5153
Dunedin: 3355153
Dunedin Hospital: 55153
rebecca.ayers@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Patrick LyallDDI: +64 3 470 5153
Dunedin: 3355153
Dunedin Hospital: 55153
patrick.lyall@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Will McMillanDDI: +64 3 470 5153
Dunedin: 3355153
Dunedin Hospital: 55153
will.mcmillan@southerndhb.govt.nz

Cardiothoracic Surgery

Website
http://www.otago.ac.nz/dsm-surgery/sections/cardiothoracic

Jane Whyte SecretaryDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58060
Dunedin: 3358060
Dunedin Hospital: 58060
jane.whyte@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Richarad W. BuntonDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58136
Dunedin: 3358136
Dunedin Hospital: 58136
richard.bunton@southerndhb.govt.nz
Ivor F. GalvinDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58062
Dunedin: 3358062
Dunedin Hospital: 58062
ivor.galvin@southerndhb.govt.nz

Otolaryngology and Head & Neck Surgery

Website
http://www.otago.ac.nz/dsm-surgery/sections/otolaryngology

Clinical SecretariesDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58270
Dunedin: 3358270
Dunedin Hospital: 58270
Associate Professor Patrick DawesDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58270
Dunedin: 3358270
Dunedin Hospital: 58270
patrick.dawes@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Martyn FieldsDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58276, +64 3 474 0999 extn 58270
Dunedin: 3358276, 3358270
Dunedin Hospital: 58276, 58270
martyn.fields@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Matthew LeaperDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58270
Dunedin: 3358270
Dunedin Hospital: 58270
matthew.leaper@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Dean RuskeDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58270
Dunedin: 3358270
Dunedin Hospital: 58270
dean.ruske@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Jamie RyanDDI: +64 3 470 9510 tracer 4493
Dunedin: 334493 (Tracer)
jamie.ryan@southerndhb.govt.nz

Neurosurgery

Website
http://www.otago.ac.nz/dsm-surgery/sections/neurosurgery

Clinical SecretaryDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58562
Dunedin: 3358562
Dunedin Hospital: 58562
Professor Dirk De RidderDDI: +64 3 470 9337
Dunedin: 3359337
Dunedin Hospital: 59337
dirk.deridder@otago.ac.nz
Jackie McLaughlan Administrative AssistantDDI: +64 3 470 9337
Dunedin: 3359337
Dunedin Hospital: 59337
jackie.mclaughlan@otago.ac.nz
Mr Reuben Johnson Senior LecturerDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58628
Dunedin: 3358628
Dunedin Hospital: 58628
reuben.johnson@otago.ac.nz
Mr Ahmad TahaDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58561
Dunedin: 3358561
Dunedin Hospital: 58561
ahmad.taha@southerndhb.govt.nz

Urology

Website
http://www.otago.ac.nz/dsm-surgery/sections/urology

Robyn Rose Clinical Secretary---SamaliaDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58860
Dunedin: 3358860
Dunedin Hospital: 58860
robyn.rose@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Alastair Hepburnalastair.hepburn@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Serge Lukeserge.luke@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Kampta SamaliaDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58864
Dunedin: 3358864
Dunedin Hospital: 58864
kampta.samalia@southerndhb.govt.nz

^ Top of page

Southland Hospital

Mr Murray Pfeifermurray.pfeifer@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Konrad Richterkonrad.richter@otago.ac.nz
Mr Julian Speightjulian.speight@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Mark Smithmark.smith@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Paul Samsonpaul.samson@southerndhb.govt.nz

^ Top of page

Orthopaedic Surgery | Dunedin Hospital

Website
http://www.otago.ac.nz/dsm-surgery/sections/orthopaedic
Email Addressorthopaedic.surgery@otago.ac.nz
Direct lineDDI: +64 3 470 9402
FaxDDI: +64 3 470 9680
Enquiries (Non-University)DDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58625
Dunedin: 3358625
Dunedin Hospital: 58625

Associate Professor David Gwynne Jones Head of SectionDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58618, +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6137
Dunedin: 3358618, 336137 (Tracer)
Dunedin Hospital: 58618
david.gwynne-jones@otago.ac.nz
Ms Aroha Meikle Administrative AssistantDDI: +64 3 470 9402
Dunedin: 3359402
Dunedin Hospital: 59402
aroha.meikle@otago.ac.nz
Professor Jean-Claude TheisDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58623
Mobile: +64 27 223 3879
Dunedin: 3358623
Dunedin Hospital: 58623
jean-claude.theis@otago.ac.nz
Mr John DunbarDDI: +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6237
Dunedin: 336237 (Tracer)
john.dunbar@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Bruce HodgsonDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58611, +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6353
Dunedin: 3358611, 336353 (Tracer)
Dunedin Hospital: 58611
bruce.hodgson@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Michael ChinDDI: +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6159
Dunedin: 336159 (Tracer)
michael.chin@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Gary McCoubreyDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58802
Dunedin: 3358802
Dunedin Hospital: 58802
gary.mccoubrey@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Simon McMahonDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58802
Dunedin: 3358802
Dunedin Hospital: 58802
simon.mcmahon@southerndhb.govt.nz
Mr Christopher BirksDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58614
Dunedin: 3358614
Dunedin Hospital: 58614
chris.birks@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Ross WilsonDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58609
Dunedin: 3358609
Dunedin Hospital: 58609
ross.wilson@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Haxby AbbottDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58615
Mobile: +64 27 289 0863
Dunedin: 3358615
Dunedin Hospital: 58615
haxby.abbott@otago.ac.nz
RegistrarsDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58912
Dunedin: 3358912
Dunedin Hospital: 58912
Keith Jeffery LibraryDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58621
Dunedin: 3358621
Dunedin Hospital: 58621
Mr Alan CarstensDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58905
Dunedin: 3358905
Dunedin Hospital: 58905
alan.carstens@southerndhb.govt.nz

^ Top of page

Anaesthesia & Intensive Care | Dunedin Hospital

Website
http://www.otago.ac.nz/dsm-surgery/sections/anaesthesia-intensive-care
FaxDDI: +64 3 470 9686
Dunedin: 3359686
Dunedin Hospital: 59686

Dr Geoff Laney Head of SectionDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58040, +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6280
Dunedin: 3358040, 336280 (Tracer)
Dunedin Hospital: 58040
geoff.laney@otago.ac.nz
Ms Vicki Andrews Clinical SecretaryDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58030
Dunedin: 3358030
Dunedin Hospital: 58030
vicki.andrews@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Matthew BaileyDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58925
Dunedin: 3358925
Dunedin Hospital: 58925
mat.bailey@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Robyn ChirnsideDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58031
Dunedin: 3358031
Dunedin Hospital: 58031
robyn.chirnside@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Geoff CutfieldDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58925
Dunedin: 3358925
Dunedin Hospital: 58925
geoff.cutfield@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Jason HenwoodDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58163
Dunedin: 3358163
Dunedin Hospital: 58163
jason.henwood@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Justin HolborowDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58039
Dunedin: 3358039
Dunedin Hospital: 58039
justin.holborow@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Lisa HorrellDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58042, +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6283
Dunedin: 3358042, 336283 (Tracer)
Dunedin Hospital: 58042
lisa.horrell@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr David JonesDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58046, +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6321
Dunedin: 3358046, 336321 (Tracer)
Dunedin Hospital: 58046
david.jones@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Campion ReadDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58050
Dunedin: 3358050
Dunedin Hospital: 58050
campion.read@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Markus RennerDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58925
Dunedin: 3358925
Dunedin Hospital: 58925
markus.renner@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Ulla ReymannDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58031, +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6276
Dunedin: 3358031, 336276 (Tracer)
Dunedin Hospital: 58031
ulla.reymann@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Andrew SmithDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58494
Dunedin: 3358494
Dunedin Hospital: 58494
andrew.smith@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Paul TemplerDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58043, +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6304
Dunedin: 3358043, 336304 (Tracer)
Dunedin Hospital: 58043
paul.templer@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Edwin van BroekhovenDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58041
Dunedin: 3358041
Dunedin Hospital: 58041
edwin.vanbroekhoven@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Hansjoerg WaibelDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58925
Dunedin: 3358925
Dunedin Hospital: 58925
hansjoerg.waibel@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Duncan WattsDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58037, +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6862
Dunedin: 3358037, 336862 (Tracer)
Dunedin Hospital: 58037
duncan.watts@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Patricia YelavichDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58036, +64 3 470 9510 tracer 6890
Dunedin: 3358036, 336890 (Tracer)
Dunedin Hospital: 58036
patricia.yelavich@southerndhb.govt.nz
Dr Mathew ZachariasDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58043
Dunedin: 3358043
Dunedin Hospital: 58043
mathew.zacharias@otago.ac.nz
Department LibraryDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58044
Dunedin: 3358044
Dunedin Hospital: 58044
Student Teaching LaboratoryDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58047
Dunedin: 3358047
Dunedin Hospital: 58047

^ Top of page

Research Students

Dr Mohammad Amer PhD CandidateDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58836
Dunedin: 3358836
Dunedin Hospital: 58836
amemo978@student.otago.ac.nz
Kate Thomas PhD CandidateDDI: +64 3 474 0999 extn 58836, +64 3 474 0999 extn 58851
Dunedin: 3358836, 3358851
Dunedin Hospital: 58836, 58851
kate.thomas@otago.ac.nz

Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago, or their respective organisation. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.